SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Modeling a cave with full of stalactites
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-07-2009, 09:27 AM   #1
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Modeling a cave with full of stalactites

Hi!

First of all, I want to thank everyone who helped me so far improving my maya skills. Great Forum. But now I have a new project: We are shooting a scene in front of a bluescreen, which should be replaced with a cave. Here is an image, so you can imagine: http://shrani.si/f/q/Mh/27N6p186/sta...-stalaktit.jpg

I modeled an rough stalactite. No problem at all, but I wonder, how I can get all those little curves which are on the stalactite. I am not the best one for shading and texturing at all, thus I thought, you could help probably...

Greets, kimsay
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stalactite.jpg
Views:	1092
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	42683  
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 09:46 AM   #2
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok. I got a texture of the net and put it on a lambert. Now the stalactite looks like this. A bit flat... I heard about a "bumpmap". Found it in maya but I don't know how to use it...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stalactite2.jpg
Views:	1099
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	42684  
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 10:04 AM   #3
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Ok you could make it with bump map or i think the best will be to go into Zbrush and make those things on the stalactit it will look fantastic if you take your time !
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 10:09 AM   #4
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah I saw some zbrush work and it is pretty cool! but I don't have the software. Could you tell me how bumpmaps work?
Would be very cool. Thank you!

Greets, kimsay
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 11:22 AM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

http://www.cgsutra.com/quicktuts/may...ro/qtm0001.php


or just search into google " Bump map tutorial for maya " or smth like that ... or just read the help ... it's easy i don't have time to explain sorry. But if you wait i can tell you tomorrow.

Have a lovely day
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 12:47 PM   #6
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi!

Thanks a lot for the tutorial it was really helpful Not it looks much better. But I have a "scratch" at one side... I think it is because it is NURBS...
any idea how to "close" the scratch?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stalactite3.jpg
Views:	1075
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	42685  
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 01:51 PM   #7
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hm I stuck!
The stalactite looks ok for now, but I don't know how to model the cave environment and how to attach all thos stalactite to the cave ceiling... I tried a lot but everytime it doesnt look naturally. Would be very glad to hear from you guys

thank you
kimsay
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 02:42 PM   #8
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Try to block out the cave with cube the cave walls then simply model another stalactits and move them so they look attached. And if you are going for real look of the cave you should go into Zbrush for good nice details it will be very helpful. Unless you are good @ modeling high res models into maya but as far as i can see you are not ... so just block out the cave get the shape in the picture and then go into Zbrush for detailing ... that's how i would do that

Good luck
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 03:17 PM   #9
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry I don't really understand what you mean with "block out the cave with cube..."

anyway. Thank you so far for your help!
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 03:38 PM   #10
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

i mean that you could make the basic shape of the cave and import your basic cave .obj file into Zbrush so you could detail it !
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 03:41 PM   #11
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hm never worked with zbrush... I'm downloading the trial right now...
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 03:56 PM   #12
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh my god, cant even import my maya model into zbrush... damn.
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 04:03 PM   #13
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

You need to export the model like .obj format and import it into Zbrush remember that Zbrush likes only 3 and 4 side faces
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 04:20 PM   #14
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks that worked!
but I cant find a brush, which is good vor a cave...
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2009, 05:04 PM   #15
kimsay
Registered User
 
kimsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok I found some cool brushes and it looks very good in zbrush but when I reimport it back to maya it is just a polygon with 50000 faces... when I try converting to subds maya says that it couldnt save anything and quits... what shall I do now?
kimsay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.