SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Inset option in poly modeling in Maya like 3Ds Max ?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-07-2009, 09:29 AM   #1
clicksubhendu
Registered User
 
clicksubhendu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Inset option in poly modeling in Maya like 3Ds Max ?

Inset option in poly modeling in Maya like 3Ds Max ?

Hi All,

I have a question that, is there any similar technique in Maya poly modeling like we have in 3Ds Max, that is "Inset".
I know through extrude option we can get sometime the same effect but not every-time like in 3Ds Max. If you are going to achieve the result with some simple mesh in Maya through extrude, you can get it, but for complex mesh we must need something like "INSET" option.

For example see the below images.
If any one know some technique, please share it.



.



.



.



.



.

__________________
My Website: http://www.subhendu3d.com
My Favorite Game site: http://www.eivaagames.com
clicksubhendu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 02:19 PM   #2
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

A similar way to achieve this will be to select the vertical faces (select edge ring tool and convert to faces) and extrude outwards. then you can extrude again upwards and delete the edge loop you don't need.
usually you can simply use the add edge loop tool to create the extra faces and extrude them upwards.
Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)

Last edited by BennyK : 29-07-2009 at 02:21 PM.
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 05:43 PM   #3
clicksubhendu
Registered User
 
clicksubhendu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Benny,

Thanks for the reply, may be it's my bad, but I didn't understand what you are trying to say.

You said "select edge ring tool and convert to faces" this is the thing which is hard to understand. How to achieve the Inset result with selected edge ring tool then convert to faces.

Can you elaborate it more.
__________________
My Website: http://www.subhendu3d.com
My Favorite Game site: http://www.eivaagames.com
clicksubhendu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2009, 06:41 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I think what he's getting at is to select the outside faces (the edge loop, then convert to faces I presume is just a quick way to select those), and then extrude outwards (instead of getting an inset) and then extrude the top of those faces upwards (the same as your example shows).

Hope that helps... (and hope that was what you were saying BennyK)
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2009, 08:26 AM   #5
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yep, That's what I meant. Only I deliberately said edge 'ring' and not edge loop. I'm Not sure selecting the edge loops will allow you to achieve the same result. (Increase and decrease selection may help though)
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2009, 04:59 PM   #6
clicksubhendu
Registered User
 
clicksubhendu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you guys, finally I got the solution.
The credit goes to "MasonDoran" who suggested me the script "P3D_Solidify" from highend3d & to "Patar" who wrote this script.

I have posted this question at cgsociety.org also, and there "MasonDoran" has suggested me this script.

See the below image what I did with "P3D_Solidify" and its exactly same what I was looking for.



Thanks again to MasonDoran and Patar.
__________________
My Website: http://www.subhendu3d.com
My Favorite Game site: http://www.eivaagames.com
clicksubhendu is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.