SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / Video Problem Related to Maya
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-08-2009, 06:46 AM   #1
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Video Problem Related to Maya

ok, i'm been out of this forum for quite a long time and now i'm back here... with a problem, that is! here in my part of the globe, Asia (I'm from Nepal), most of the computers are assembled as they are cheaper, unlike the european n other countries...... I too have an assembled one and am currently using a core 2 duo E8400 processor with Intel G41 mother board and 2 GB DDR2 RAM. i still don't have any graphics card (except for onboard one). I recently bought this system, esp for MAYA n other 3D programs. I did install it and all but it won't run in this system!!!!! It crashes the moment splash screen goes off and the main window comes! the error generated is "Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable error". i've tried installing new "C++ ... 2008 " version but to no avail. i've asked the vendor to fix it, but they too are not being able to solve it. i know this is not a 'troubleshooting' website, but i hope someone might be able to help me....
its the same for XSI 7 and Zbrush but 3Ds Max runs well. other softwares like Adobe Photoshop and Aftereffects, works well too....
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2009, 08:53 AM   #2
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

My guess is that it has something to do with you not having a videocard, onboard videocards don't work that well.
But it's just a guess
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2009, 09:50 AM   #3
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

u r correct.. but i used to run Maya in previous computers with no external graphics cards at all n used to have no prob at all, be it in modeling, animation, rigging, lighting or renderin. so why now????? :angery: :headbang: :headbang:

u r correct to say that coz i uninstalled the current display adapter and installed an older one (i got it frm my fren) and it worked!!!! now Maya runs but few other softwares still don't work at all, like XSI, Zbrush etc etc.
Mayb i should get an external G-Card... but i'll have to wait for app a month, for my paycheck ie.
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2009, 11:53 AM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

thats not a graphics card error, it's got nothing to do with him missing a card (as far as i can tell)

when you installed c++ 2008 did you mean you installed visual studio 2008? or just the c++ component (i dunno if that's possible)

what operating system are you using and is it up to date?

have you tried reinstalling windows?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2009, 05:57 PM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

I've tinkered with Maya on an integrated video card and it doesn't work with Vista, Windows 7 yes, but on Vista it didn't work once.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2009, 11:39 AM   #6
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i'm using vista ultimate and also used vista black edition and yes, it is up to date, but it's d same. i've reinstalled OS three times but still nothing.
with c++ 2008, i meant "Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)".

to GecT, my studio (animation studio) is currently working with MAYA 2008 (we've tried both 8.5 full fledgely and also 2009) on Windows Vista Ultimate!!! if u didn't knew it works with Vista....
the specs used in my studio are
at least core 2 duo 3.0 ghz
G45 or above
3 GB RAM
and every system has got at least 256 MB (lates) graphics card.
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Inline video David Members Lounge 5 09-12-2010 10:40 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.