SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / putting a movie on a tv screen
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2009, 04:24 PM   #1
stretchandgrim
Registered User
 
stretchandgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default putting a movie on a tv screen

Dear all,

I want to place a movie on as a texture on a tv screen face. I have savd out a short film as .iff files nembered from 0000 to 00200. I have imported them into the File Attributes.image name box and selected Use Image Sequence which has applied an expression to the Image Number. I can't actually see any film on the screen though. I have turned on hardware texturing and high quality rendering. Any thoughts as to why I can't see it?

Maybe someone would put a step by step as to how to get a film on a tv screen in Maya.

Thanks. Here's hopin.

Stretch.
__________________
vay kind of you.
stretchandgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 07:22 PM   #2
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

I had a problem with this before. Don`t use *.iff as it did not work for me at all - I got tiff`s and jpegs to work just fine.
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 12:53 PM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I don't know if you have access to compositing software, if so it would be a better idea to track it on in post as the quality will be higher.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:47 PM   #4
stretchandgrim
Registered User
 
stretchandgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys. Looks like I've had some success with image sequences (jpegs, tga, iff...whatever) as long as the number extension on each frame matches up with the frame number in Maya.
__________________
vay kind of you.
stretchandgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:08 PM   #5
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Last I knew, the image sequence didn't work if the naming convention had underscores like "image_001.tif", try using "image.001.tif".
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carton Love [ Short movie ] ColdWave Work In Progress 19 03-01-2011 08:55 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.