SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / How many polys can you render?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-01-2010, 12:52 AM   #1
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default How many polys can you render?

Just out of curiosity, how many polygons can you render without your computer crashing.

Sadly mine is 1.2mil.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 03:57 AM   #2
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

You mean it being VERY slow, or crashing?

I've never had it crash, and I've had 5+ million polys on screen at once. Granted, it was unusable, but it didn't crash out.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 04:42 AM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

For me, it crashes...it locks up and won't do anything. I end up having to use the task manager to shut down maya. Sometimes it locks up like that, sometimes it says memory error, sometimes it says fatal error. But it only happens when I start getting up to 1.5mil polys.

At about 750k polys everything starts slowing down but still workable. I just put things on layers and only keep a few things on my screen until render time. I need to learn how to composite, then I could render in passes and composite them. But right now I don't know how to composite.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 05:51 AM   #4
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Hell mate, i start getting slow at about 150 k poly's...
and i have a pretty decent machine.

wish i could hit 750 k poly and still run smooth in the viewport.

I've never tried to render more then about 600k poly though.


G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 10:34 AM   #5
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 63
Thanked 161 Times in 154 Posts
Default

About 1.4 million rendered with Maya open (but moving around the screen I had to use bounding boxing and a lot of layers) and about 2.7 million with command line rendering.

But I have crashed it soooooo many time rendering
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 12:18 PM   #6
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Yeah once maya starts hitting the millions of polys it start dragging its ass. I believe Ive hit the same kind of count as nextdesign, I ended up splitting the scene up, to get it thru the pipeline.

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 02:41 PM   #7
RockyMills_01
Subscriber
 
RockyMills_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Default

For me it's about 500k, then Maya starts to bitch about the resources..blah..blahh. Using a pretty poor system too with 1g ram...:p
RockyMills_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 02:59 PM   #8
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I was using a dual quad core at 2.8 GHz with 6 gigs of ram.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 04:06 PM   #9
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

LOL same here but had 8gig...insane!!
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 05:36 PM   #10
3ddon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mine is 512mb of ram.......
so opening maya is a tough job for me.......
it struggles me always....
in my institute 1gb ram...little bit better


then what about the ram,other hardware,configuration in big production companies?
3ddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 06:24 PM   #11
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

It all depends on what you are doing. Modelers need less than simulators.

Modelers can get around with 2 or so gigs of ram. Simulators need much more; around the 8 to 16+ gig mark.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.

Last edited by NextDesign : 18-01-2010 at 06:26 PM.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2010, 07:15 PM   #12
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Hell, i have 2 gig of ram, and a 2.13 gig proc
still gets Mad at around 100 150 k poly
I am a big user or Layers to remedy that problem, Navigate a 500k poly scene like its only 10 k polys...so long as i have 490 k of the polys on layers that are turned off..LoL

G-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.