SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-04-2010, 12:39 PM   #1
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default fps

hey guys need to render an animation at 60fps so that i can time remap my render in an external program how can i do this i tried changing this in the settings but it started skipping frames and i couldnt get a proper frame sequence i hope i have explaned myself well
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2010, 12:10 PM   #2
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Are you remapping in a comp package??

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2010, 01:04 PM   #3
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

yup in after effects
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2010, 02:03 PM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Then dont worry about doing it in Maya. You should be able to retime it in the comp. Much easier

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2010, 11:10 AM   #5
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

the thing is when i render the image sequence it does it in 24fps so when i try and slow it down the video isnt very fluid as i would like it to thats why i wanted to render at 60fps it will give a much smoother movement when i slow it down
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2010, 11:58 AM   #6
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

just asked here at work for you. Retiming in aftereffects is a dog. so the best thing to do is rerender in Maya at 36fps.

the prob is also the fact that you are trying to render frames in after effect that dont exist so the interploation isnt valid enough between real frames.

sorry I cant help more than that

cheers dude
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2010, 06:07 AM   #7
G-Man
Subscriber
 
G-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bowling Green. Kentucky U.S.A.
Posts: 810
Thanks: 9
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

is your animation keyframed, or is it a dynamic simulation in maya?
Dynamic sims in maya allow for a per frame attribute as it were, that will let you slow the simulation its self down
I.E. you can have frame 1=1....then frame 50=50...and if you need it to kick into slow motion there, have frame 51= frame 51 then say....frame 200=100, which will basically give you 149 frames in slow mo for the next 50 frames in real time. i think the setting is called "per frame" or somethign, been a while since i screwed with it. It you're doing a dyncami sim lemme know and i'll look it up for you.
g-man
__________________
Follow My Business
On The Web!
Or
On Facebook!
G-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.