SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / Using A Controller With Maya
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-05-2010, 07:18 AM   #1
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Using A Controller With Maya

I found some cool apps online that let you connect game controllers to your pc so you can play your games with them. One neat feature is that you can configure your controller sticks to move as a mouse so you can actually use your pc with the controller. Unfortunately the xbox/ps3 drivers are for Windows only.

To use a 360 or Dualshock controller you have to download 2 things :

the DS3 tool that has the driver that lets Windows actually use the things -->

http://www.motioninjoy.com/download (Tutorial included there)

And a config program called xpadder --> (If you're using a normal usb controller (like logitech or something) then this is app all you need.)

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/.../Xpadder.shtml

Here is an xpadder tut to get you going -->

http://www.racketboy.com/retro/2007/...-keyboard.html

It's very easy after the first time you do it. If you're using a normal usb controller then you can pretty much ignore all this other stuff.

Even though the DS3 tool has it's own config thing in the "custom" menu, it only works when you're connected to the internet. :headbang: So it's better to turn on the Ds3 tool so windows can see your controller and then open xpadder to set up your configuration.

One thing to remember is that to turn on the analog sticks you have to go to OPTIONS and then click ENABLE OPTION. I attached a pic so you can see it.

After all the boring installation stuff, you can start mapping your Maya shortcuts to your controller which is pretty cool. On my DS3 I mapped my right stick as the mouse and use the face buttons as the transform tools.

Have fun!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	motionjoy tool.jpg
Views:	949
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	44232  
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2010, 06:04 PM   #2
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

very interesting. I bought a 360 controller to try and use on my pc for CoD a while back, never succeeded, maybe I'll see if I can do this... if not I'll try with my ps3 controller.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2010, 11:18 PM   #3
Acid44
Registered User
 
Acid44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 12
Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts
Default

I've never liked xpadder. For some reason it always managed to save the controller layout (how many buttons/axis it has) but not the configuration of said buttons/axis...

I tried maya with my logitech dual action ages ago using the logitech profiler to set it up, it was fucn for a bit... But the novelty wears off as you realise how hard it is to be precise :p
__________________
Acid44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2010, 06:12 AM   #4
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by acid44
I've never liked xpadder. For some reason it always managed to save the controller layout (how many buttons/axis it has) but not the configuration of said buttons/axis...

I tried maya with my logitech dual action ages ago using the logitech profiler to set it up, it was fucn for a bit... But the novelty wears off as you realise how hard it is to be precise :p
Lol yeah. :bandit:

I gotta try it with zbrush though. Can't wait for that;
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:10 PM   #5
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

I used a command line tool a while back to do the same thing. You interfaced with it through mel. At the studio I was working at the time, we used it to animate cars driving around for a project we had. Lots of fun.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 12:29 AM   #6
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rhetoric Camel
very interesting. I bought a 360 controller to try and use on my pc for CoD a while back, never succeeded, maybe I'll see if I can do this... if not I'll try with my ps3 controller.
I tried that with Crysis awhile back, it worked pretty much prefectly, I cant remember the name of the program, but it was sweet, if you ever try again just good xbox controller PC crysis, or something like that.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.