SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Edge ring and split
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-06-2010, 05:50 PM   #1
snowking
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Edge ring and split

I have tried to make a rim following a tutorial , but I have stuck at 2:00. I can't make the loop. My result:
snowking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2010, 11:12 PM   #2
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Mine does that too sometimes...I think (Im dont really know) that if you have hidden edges or verts it will 'pull' the edge loop to them..if you know what I mean.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2010, 08:52 AM   #3
snowking
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't have hidden edges, I have verified it
snowking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2010, 11:19 AM   #4
snowking
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah... You was right... thanks for the replay

" The Problem that you have is that there are always 2 faces on top of each other.... that's something what you can't really see.... and it's a little bit weird cause the vertex count is right. You can check that out if you select 1 face and delete it... you will see that even after deleting it there's still a face at that spot. That means you have twice as much faces in that scene as you should have.

Well, that might have happend when you duplicated that mesh... I guess you have duplicated it 1 time too much and accidentally combined 2 meshes that were on the exact same spot in that scene. But that's only a guess :-)

All I did was selecting your Object and then under "Mesh" ----> "cleanup" I checked the options as you can see on the screenshot I attached to this mail. What that did was it selected all the faces wich are "zero geometry"... all I did then was hit delete on the keyboard.... and that fixed your problem."
snowking is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.