SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / How to change axis of rotate tool?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-07-2010, 09:12 AM   #1
perfect_paradigm_777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to change axis of rotate tool?

I'm using Maya 2011. Does anyone know how to change the axis of the rotate tool or in other words rotate the rotate tool itself?
perfect_paradigm_777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2010, 01:02 PM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,883
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I don't know how you can change the rotation handle's rotation without effecting the geometry. However, I do know how to change the objects rotation without effecting the rotation handle. Perhaps this will get you in the right direction.

Select the object and open up it's attributes. Go to the transform attributes and then change the rotation axis as needed. See attached image. So, if you wanted to, you could set your rotation handle to world (by using the rotation settings) and then change the rotation axis values (in the transform attributes) until your object lines up with your rotation handles. Kind of hard to explain, I think if you try it out, you'll understand.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rotate axis.jpg
Views:	11930
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	44531  
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2010, 02:49 PM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,883
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Also, if you are just wanting to rotate the object a certain way and not worried about the rotation handle, you could...

1. Select your object
2. Display>Transform Display>Rotate Pivots
3. Switch to wireframe so you can see the rotate pivot
4. Create a primitive, such as a cube.
5. Snap the cube to the rotate pivot of your object
6. Rotate the cube until it lines up with your object
7. Parent the object to the cube (select object, then cube, then press p)
8. Now you can rotate the cube and the object will rotate as well.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2010, 03:53 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I think all you need to do is turn on component selection, then choose the selection mask (in the status line) with "Local Rotation Axis" (I think), you'll see the pivot point which you can rotate with the rotate tool. Hope that helps (and works, I haven't tried it in a while so I could be forgetting)
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2010, 07:24 AM   #5
perfect_paradigm_777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot for your time guys.

I tried the last suggestion before I posted this question and it was glitching and was all jerky and so I was hoping I was doing it wrong or there was another way, but now it's working so I'm happy.

So in case anyone else was wondering here are the steps to change the axis of your rotation tool.

1. Hit F8 key to go into component mode

2. Click the question mark icon that's located near the center in the menu at the top

3. Select rotate tool then select an object and click on either the x y or z that appears.

4. Use the Rotate tool to rotate the pivot-like thingie with the x y and z on it to where you want the new axis to be

5. Hit F8 again to exit component mode and now you can use the rotate tool on the object to rotate it in the new axis you set.
perfect_paradigm_777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2010, 08:39 AM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

bloody sweet mate!!!! I was doing the reate primitive,snap etc etc I will give the last one a go. I find if Maya glitches (on screen) I just go to 4 panel view then back in...stops it.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2010, 12:22 PM   #7
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,883
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

stwert, that's simply awesome. I can't believe I've been using maya for 3 years and never knew that existed. Thanks perfect_paradigm_777 for asking the question and thanks stwert for providing the perfect solution.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2010, 12:34 PM   #8
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

yes stwert...an ale or 3. Now how to get this geosphere script to work...hmmmmmm..bedtime now I think..too much learnt today.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
How to change thread picture daverave Members Lounge 5 01-12-2010 05:20 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.