SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / 'locking'selection or objects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-12-2010, 01:11 PM   #1
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 226
Thanks: 9
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default 'locking'selection or objects

is there any way I can isolate an object so that I can't accidentally select it whilst working on something close by?
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to se7enhedd For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 01:18 PM   #2
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

sure. You should use a layer. Select an object & make a layer with it. On the layer panel choose the second box & swich it 2 times.
It can be Empthy / template / reference

Swich to the reference & you cant touch it.
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Joey81 For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 01:19 PM   #3
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

you could put it on a layer and set the layer to template. or you can select the shape node of the object and under object display check template there.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 01:21 PM   #4
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I forget to mention the Isolate button.
Its very handy one.
Choose the object you want to work with & push the blue wireframe cube & go on
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Iso.jpg
Views:	4453
Size:	201.4 KB
ID:	45330  
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Joey81 For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 01:28 PM   #5
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 226
Thanks: 9
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

thanks but - pushing that just hides the other objects in my version - i need to see the obect, i just want to avoid selecting it! :\
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to se7enhedd For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 04:54 PM   #6
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

If you want to see objects in the scene but avoid selecting them then layers are you best solution. Place the objects in a layer then you can make that layer either a reference or a template layer.

Switching to camera based selection (hold down the q-key and left mouse button will bring up a marking menu) can also be a quick fix for those cases when you are selecting a small object in front of a larger one but maya insists on selecting the bigger object.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 16-12-2010 at 10:07 PM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
Old 21-12-2010, 01:25 PM   #7
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 226
Thanks: 9
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

hmm layers.. i'm having a bit of difficulty using them in 2011 student - the little check boxes (to select visible,template etc) seem to have a life of their own. sometimes they work and sometimes not with letters appearing at random??
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to se7enhedd For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.