SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / First model
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2011, 05:54 AM   #1
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default First model

Hey everyone! I'm completely new to Maya but it's been on my computer for quite some time and now I want to actually learn as I'm starting to have interest in creating games and I wanted to create my own character for my first game. Hours ago I bought the video training tutorial "Low Poly Character Study - Freeky " and followed the steps in creating my own character from a different reference instead of the one in the tutorial. I wanted to post progress and know what you guys think so far?

I screenshotted it, don't know if that's the correct way to show what I've got done (and let me know if it is please? :p) but here it is! (attachments below)

The reference I'm using (not mine): http://www.brianluk.com/gallery/pict...et_colored.jpg

Questions/Concerns I have:

1. Is it because I'm modeling with nurbs that it doesn't count my Tris/Triangles?
(I need to know because the game engine I'm using has a limit of Tris which I think is 1000 or 2000)

2. Tutorials on low poly hair? Links would be much appreciated.

3. How would I go about clothing her?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	01.PNG
Views:	129
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	45593   Click image for larger version

Name:	02.PNG
Views:	131
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	45594   Click image for larger version

Name:	03.PNG
Views:	132
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	45595  

Last edited by TonyNooblet : 05-01-2011 at 06:07 AM.
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
Old 05-01-2011, 08:21 AM   #2
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I apologize for double posting but I have a few problems

When I click a vertex, the surrounding changes colors and it moves as I adjust that vertex and it really bugs me somehow. (Attachment below)

Also I accidentally pressed the space bar on my work space and it did something and now my top left workspace/view and right are now linked and have the same view. I've tried to change it back to "Top" or "Perspective" but it just changes both of them if I try to change one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	saaaad.JPG
Views:	125
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	45599  
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
Old 05-01-2011, 12:59 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Well one you have shaped it out just convert the model to poly - game engines dont use nurbs as they are too heavy. You can keep the nurbs object connected to the poly too as long as you dont delete the history

ahh you have turned on soft selection by hitting the B key. To turn it off hit B again.

also if you double click the tool you are using and go to its settings, you can scroll down and turn on soft selection here as well.

hope that helps

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay For This Useful Post:
Old 05-01-2011, 09:43 PM   #4
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Update! I've learned so many things in the past day!

I'm still stuck with three views that are the same in my workspace. If I change one to Perspective or other it changes the two views, any help please!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snapshot firstmodel.gif
Views:	104
Size:	202.5 KB
ID:	45601   Click image for larger version

Name:	SS.png
Views:	104
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	45602   Click image for larger version

Name:	update1.png
Views:	103
Size:	126.6 KB
ID:	45603  
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
Old 05-01-2011, 11:10 PM   #5
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 782
Thanks: 28
Thanked 233 Times in 186 Posts
Default

Looks like a good start, you'll have clothes covered later in that tutorial and for the hair as it's a low poly cartoon style model you should be able to get individual hair strands simply by modeling them using the same techniques with lofting surfaces and converting to polys as i think is used for the belt in the tutorial.

For the viewports all controls are on the panel menu bar above, not sure i got it right but if you go to panels > layouts/saved layouts you can set the viewport layout as you like.
Then go to panels > perspective (set individual viewport to perspective) / orthographic (front, side, top) / panel (render view and other things) should just set the one and not all.

Hope that helps,
Nilla
Nilla is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nilla For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 03:58 AM   #6
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Okay now I'm having major troubles. So your advice worked and seperates the viewport to unfollow each other but when I click on a predefined bookmark, I can't seem to find my model now matter how much I zoom in/zoom out. What happened?! Is it because I'm modeling in units of meters?
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 06:14 AM   #7
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 782
Thanks: 28
Thanked 233 Times in 186 Posts
Default

Just hit a on the keyboard it frames everything thats in your scene so it should bring it back. Also you can frame selected objects with the f key, all geometry that's in your scene can be selected in the outliner if you can't find it in the viewport.
Nilla is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nilla For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 08:03 AM   #8
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hmm! When I press F or A it zooms in and I see my model for 1 second and as it finally reaches the zoom point, everything in the viewport disappears. :s

And I'd like to thank you for all your help by the way!

I recorded it: YouTube - maya problem

Last edited by TonyNooblet : 06-01-2011 at 08:33 AM.
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 08:41 AM   #9
dalenas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyNooblet View Post
Hmm! When I press F or A it zooms in and I see my model for 1 second and as it finally reaches the zoom point, everything in the viewport disappears. :s

And I'd like to thank you for all your help by the way!

I recorded it: YouTube - maya problem
this might work if u want to see your model??? select your camera and change your Far Clip Plane then maybe u will be able to see it, dont know, i had the same problem when i started, but cant remember what i did
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	923.3 KB
ID:	45609  
dalenas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dalenas For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 09:04 AM   #10
dalenas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

and make sure u have not selected anything else just your model, or like Nova said, dont select anything and press A
dalenas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dalenas For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 09:09 AM   #11
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It worked! Thanks so much!

And would you happen to know how to center things at grid?
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 09:25 AM   #12
dalenas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyNooblet View Post
It worked! Thanks so much!

And would you happen to know how to center things at grid?
it dipence where your pivot of model is, all what you do is press X and snap your model to the centre with move tool selected, if you want to change your models pivot - press "insert" button - change pivot and then the same button again, or what i use while holding button D change the pivot and release D, thanks
dalenas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dalenas For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 09:39 AM   #13
dalenas
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Or press "modify" on top menu and then press "centre pivot"
dalenas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dalenas For This Useful Post:
Old 06-01-2011, 10:46 AM   #14
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Thanks so much! You guys helped me so much. I'm finding Maya really fun and not frustating whatsoever.

I finally created clothing! But is it how most people go about doing it? Duplicate Model > Delete parts (head or legs or etc.) > Extrude/ScaleVerts/MoveVerts/Etc > Delete faces of base model under clothing. Somewhat learned it from the video tutorial I've started with.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	07.png
Views:	84
Size:	47.1 KB
ID:	45610   Click image for larger version

Name:	08.png
Views:	83
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	45611   Click image for larger version

Name:	06.png
Views:	82
Size:	55.6 KB
ID:	45612  
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
Old 07-01-2011, 04:20 AM   #15
TonyNooblet
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I have a question about rules of geometry

If I deleted this edge in the following picture, would I have to delete the remaining edges?
(Which is there because of me attaching a hand to the body/arm and splitting the polygons of the body to connect it.) I actually want to delete those edges up until the wrist so I can decrease polycount. After the wrist, deleting those edges would mess up my hand :s
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	quest.png
Views:	72
Size:	84.9 KB
ID:	45620   Click image for larger version

Name:	quest2.png
Views:	71
Size:	252.6 KB
ID:	45621  
TonyNooblet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TonyNooblet For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make my model move? bemmycute2005 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 17-04-2015 08:09 PM
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 11:39 AM
Bump map distortions from an imported model rockit Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 5 24-12-2010 09:55 AM
Teeth in a Face Model izeaboy Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 23-12-2010 11:17 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 09:28 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.