SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / ****Zbrush And Mudbox ****
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-01-2012, 10:05 PM   #1
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default ****Zbrush And Mudbox Techniques ****

Hi all

Okay so with a nudge from CGIsoul...a Zbrush and Mudbox discussion/technique thread.....Enjoy and behave!!

Jay
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Logo.jpg
Views:	646
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	50307  
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2012, 10:12 PM   #2
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Thanks Jay!

Looking at this page http://www.verold.com/ it looks like that we are going to have lots of fun retopologizing meshes in Zb. Just hope that is not another create zsphere technique for retopo. duh.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2012, 10:14 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Yeah I saw that earlier today...very cool. I'm just downloading the new update with the fibres now!! Will post some stuff soon!!

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2012, 10:21 PM   #4
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Autodesk is very tight lip with Mudbox 2013..... can't find any news about it.
Didn't have the time to play with the fiber yet. Been busy, you know?
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 12:01 AM   #5
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Ok, I'm moving into this thread I'll be moving my stuff in shortly. Been doing some hard-surface tests in ZB, might be worth sharing.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 10:24 AM   #6
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

I really like Mudbox more than Zbrush due to its straight forward approach.
I've been using zb for quite some years on and off and when I get back to it, I always need a quick refresh course. Though zb has tons of features I never use, there are also other very handy features. Arrgg.....

Hard surface is something I have never done before, but lately I have been giving it a thought and might give a try.

Hey Jay, perhaps a hard surface with retopo included sort of training - Maya and Zbrush process?? It doesn't have to be very complicated, something simple like a bad ass looking sword or armor plate?
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 10:53 AM   #7
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

I to prefer mudbox for texturing just seams to me to be more logical to use............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 01:49 PM   #8
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

ok. Coincidentally I have a zbrush question today, so I'll drop it in here....


Mask by Cavity

Not something i've used loads...but have done a couple of times recently and found it really handy for helping to produce an overlay/multiply colour map to help accentuate the details in my normal maps.

But...Im sure some of you will have come across this before....on a couple of models ive had recently, and my current one...when i click 'mask by cavity'...it masks the entire model. Rather than that camo-like look it usually produces when it works how you'd expect. Ive tried playing with the intensity of the cavity - -100 all the way up to 100, and played around with the cavity curve....but I still cant get a mask that isnt either nothing masked at all...or everything masked entirely. Its not like my model doesnt have any cavities.
Are there any reasons people know of that stop zbrush producing good cavity masks on certain models?
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2012, 09:58 PM   #9
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Hey Ben

This got me a while ago because it looks like that....I think if you have small cavities they dont show up as well but if you add say poly paint and then inverse the mask and do say a different color you will see it. Also it could be how deep the cavities are....can you show your example?

J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2012, 01:37 AM   #10
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

Hiya. I can't really show it cause it's for the game project I'm helping on.... Under nda and that. I'm off to center parcs early in the morning but if I get a chance before I leave I'll pm you a shot.

3 possible reasons I am thinking of. One is that the process I have been using alot lately is to model my bases in Maya, sculpt in z, then export the sculpted level 1 to Maya for uv-ing and then importing the uvd mesh back to z. As the topology is always the same the detail transfers no problem onto the newly uv'd mesh.... But in the current case there were a couple of verts that somehow got adjusted so there are a couple of issues with how the detail transferred.

But also the model has some very thin areas.... You know how zbrush sometimes has
issues with very thin geometry, such as fingers, where if you sculpt on one side it pulls in the other side in the same direction....
Also.... The model has some parts which are just single sided geometry.... A few edges just extruded out from the model.... And I'm wondering if this could be causing an issue also.

I did try briefly polypainting over the ( seemingly total) mask, but nothing came out on the model.

I'll try post you a shot in the morning.
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2012, 06:03 PM   #11
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

We really gotta get forum sections for Sculpting (e.g. zbrush and mudbox) and 2D (e.g. photoshop, drawing, painting)... what place does zbrush troubleshooting have in the WIP forum?

Anyway... just got an intuos 4 today!! So I'm looking forward to doing some in depth zbrush learning (haven't really touched z since the fall). Anyone want to share their express key and scroll wheel setup? Specifically, I'm trying to figure out how to zoom in using the scroll button thing. Or is that like using the scroll wheel on your mouse in maya (can't stand that).
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2012, 07:40 PM   #12
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stwert View Post
We really gotta get forum sections for Sculpting (e.g. zbrush and mudbox) and 2D (e.g. photoshop, drawing, painting)... what place does zbrush troubleshooting have in the WIP forum?

Anyway... just got an intuos 4 today!! So I'm looking forward to doing some in depth zbrush learning (haven't really touched z since the fall). Anyone want to share their express key and scroll wheel setup? Specifically, I'm trying to figure out how to zoom in using the scroll button thing. Or is that like using the scroll wheel on your mouse in maya (can't stand that).
Hehe, I've been using mine for almost 3 years and loving it every bits of it.
The way I work is like, You hold the Alt key and move the pen = pan
When you press Alt key, tap and leave your pen on the tablet, then release right away the Alt key = Zoom.
It sounds complicated, but it's not. It just a matter of getting used to it. I'm very used to it.

Lately I've been catching up with Mudbox again. Nice and easy to work with and excellent integration with Maya pipeline. However, when I was testing the blend shape in Maya imported from Mudbox (as fbx format), there were some weird stretching going on.

I've been trying to find an excuse to move completely to mudbox for quite sometime, but finding myself always back to zbrush as the sculpting is very very fluid in it comparing to mud. I really hope AD will bring great performance improvements and retopo tools in it.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cgisoul For This Useful Post:
stwert (27-01-2012)
Old 27-01-2012, 07:42 PM   #13
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

So you don't bother with the tablet keys at all then?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2012, 07:59 PM   #14
cgisoul
Lifetime Member
 
cgisoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 258
Thanks: 22
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stwert View Post
So you don't bother with the tablet keys at all then?
Not at all. They actually slows you down.
Well, that's just the way i work with my i4. It really comes down to each person.
cgisoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2012, 09:26 PM   #15
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Stwert....well hopefully here is a good start for the zbrush section...people can post here with their work too.....of zbrush and mudbox

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model all black or new artifacts showing?? Lost all my painting and texuring!!! mayaday Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 13 06-07-2013 05:37 PM
Mudbox poly-count workaround Jimby Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 15-11-2011 09:38 AM
Maya - Mudbox clearairstudios Work In Progress 9 13-10-2011 07:17 PM
Stylized Bust Classical Work In Progress 3 24-02-2011 05:40 PM
Maya 2011 to Mudbox 2011 joemilkweed Technical Issues 0 18-12-2010 05:45 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.