SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Polygon Proxy Mode
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2003, 01:26 AM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Polygon Proxy Mode

In the docs, I've read about working in Proxy mode. I'm not 100% sure how this is used in Maya, but I want to experiment. The thing is I can't find where I switch between Standard/Proxy mode. Where is it?
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2003, 05:07 AM   #2
sdch1000
Subscriber
 
sdch1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Miami, FL. USA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is subdivision surfaces. From the Modeling toolset look under "Subdiv Surface". You can also switch between the 2 by just right-clicking on the Subdiv surface and select Polygon or Standard.
__________________
Steven C.
sdch1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2003, 11:31 PM   #3
tariqrf
Subscriber
 
tariqrf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,253
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

thats the only way i work with subdivs (well, 90 % of the time) ... try maya's doc's hand tutorial.. it shows you how to make a hand using the polygon proxy mode..
__________________
:banana: :mingun: :yipee: :mingun: :bgreen: :mingun: :argue:
tariqrf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2003, 07:57 PM   #4
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Theres another way than using sub-d's. The polygon proxy mode is archived by selecting your poly object and goto polygons > smooth proxy. In the layer menu you can choose different ways of viewing. By standard you will see the smoothed version under your lowpoly model.

This is much different from sub-d's, because you do not create an sub-object. You just see all the time how your modelling is affecting your smoothed object. Pretty cool.
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2003, 08:31 PM   #5
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh... using the smooth proxy mode, it can also be helpful to have only one side of your object showing the smooth under the original lowpoly. At least it gives you a better overview.

Do this by selecting your half head (before you make an instance) and choose polygons > smooth proxy. Then chose your proxy object and dublicate it as an instance (scale -1).

Then you can work with your lowpoly on the instance and immediately see the smoothed affection on the other side of the head. Might seem confusing, but it works.
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2003, 07:05 PM   #6
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

the smooth proxy mode is only in maya 4.5 btw
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com

Last edited by Nem : 21-02-2003 at 03:44 PM.
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2003, 07:33 PM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Nem its in 4.0 also.....
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2003, 03:23 PM   #8
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yup it sure is, under the subdiv surfaces menu - Its my preferred way of working
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2003, 05:17 PM   #9
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i think theres a difference between the two
poly proxy (under subd menu) works with subd surfaces as the actual model
smooth proxy (under poly menu) works with polys

if you wanted to have complete control over ur model, then smooth proxy is the way to go because you can edit the smooth mesh
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2003, 05:44 PM   #10
Kühl
Subscriber
 
Kühl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

exactly nem...
__________________
Kühl
Kühl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2003, 09:21 AM   #11
alexgc
Subscriber
 
alexgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

right u are Nem - my bad lol
alexgc is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.