SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Making Curved UV's Straight

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post

05-03-2015, 02:57 PM   #1
bauma1lp

Making Curved UV's Straight
I am having an issue with UV's on this magazine I am trying to texture. I am fairly new to UV mapping and i am trying to figure out how to straighten the edges of this model. I am attempting to texture the edges and curving a photo to match the UV is painstakingly slow and the results are not that great.

So is there a way to straighten these curved portions of the UV for easy texturing?

Thanks for the help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 9.48.34 AM.png
Views:	2590
Size:	70.6 KB
ID:	56528   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 9.49.08 AM.png
Views:	2398
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	56529  
05-03-2015, 09:38 PM   #2
Gen
Super Moderator

You could try this trick

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yU8hy17vxuw

Maybe try one of these scripts, they might have what you need.

UVDeluxe
Nightshade UV
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
05-03-2015, 11:34 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore

Ive not watched Gens video...