SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / How's this for maya?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
Thread Tools
Old 21-03-2003, 04:24 AM   #1
Emo's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Talking How's this for maya?

B121H series support up to 1,280 GB/2,560 GB DDR 333/266/200 ECC registered memory

Supports up to 160 160 AMD Opteron™ processors!

mmmm gimme!!

I wonder how much is one...

Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2003, 06:59 AM   #2
Registered User
Ultragames's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113


Rich People :mingun:
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2003, 01:53 PM   #3
Registered User
wchamlet's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 195

That's the wave of the future. With processors coming out today, ie the PPC 970 from IBM, able to use up to 2+ Terabytes of RAM, it's almost mind boggling. Although, it will be too much for a desktop to be able to handle (how many watts of power would that take?) today, maybe in ten years this will be the norm. Although, we'll have to leave the world of current 32 bit processors to acheive RAM limits of 1000/GB's, I see that happening soon too.

What's the power consumption of the Opteron? Compared to the P4? I know PPC runs relatively cool compared to x86, but I don't really know anything about the Opteron's power consumption.
My Website
wchamlet is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off