SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Problem with "Smooth" Polygon
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-03-2003, 07:34 AM   #1
bernhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria - St. Pölten
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Problem with "Smooth" Polygon

Hello friends !

Well, I´ve modelled a simple hard and primitve car modell.
The model was made with polygones.

Now, I have really hard edges - and I want to smooth the edges.

I´ve tried the "smooth" tool - okay, I´ve set the subdivisions on 1 - so it´s not soo smooth.

but if I use this tool, my model is soo big smoothed, that you can´t see the model like it should be. There is a really big smooth distortion on the model, so that the form of the car will unbelieveable damaged.

hmm, sorry for my bad english, I hope the description was okay.

question:
what can I do to prevent such distortion if I want to smooth my object and hold the origianl form (model)?

thx,
bernhard
bernhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2003, 02:22 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You may just need to soften your edges. Edit Polygons > Normals > Soften/Harden Edges. Choose soft in options.

This thread might help you with your smooth problem:

http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...?threadid=3627
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2003, 01:42 AM   #3
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

try highlighting all the faces, and going Edit Polygons > Subdivide.

Thats the only trick i know so far.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 08:38 PM   #4
Vectorman
Subscriber
 
Vectorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Framingham, MA United States
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

This should get you started
__________________

"When you are born, you have a resposiblilty to program you're own mind, if you do not accept this responsiblilty, then the world will do it for you"
Aol Instant messenger: mrcoolbp2
Vectorman is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.