SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / How do I delete nodes?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-05-2003, 02:09 AM   #1
none
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I delete nodes?

I have 433 "delete component" nodes and they are slowing down Maya alot (it takes several minutes to do anything)

So I open the attribute editor, select one of the hundreds of "delete component" nodes, and then i click on the "attributes" drop down window and select "delete attribute". A "delete attribute" window pops-up but nothing happens, the node is still there.

Can someone explain to me how it's done?

thx for any help.
none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 02:21 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

you should just be able to select it and hit teh "delete' keyboard key.

Try running a File > Optimize Scene Size.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 02:51 AM   #3
none
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried the optimize scene option but it didn't work.

Quote:
you should just be able to select it and hit teh "delete' keyboard key.
what window do i have to be in to do that?
none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 03:30 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

are you talking about history? Edit > Delete by Type > History.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 03:59 AM   #5
none
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool.

so i deleted the history and now it's running as smooth as butter!

will there be any negative effects due to the history being gone?
none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2003, 04:18 AM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

deleting history "bakes" whatever changes that have been done into the model... so for example, if I were to perform a Smooth on a poly object, I could raise or lower the number of divisions in that smooth as much as I wanted later on if the history was still present... after deleting history, whatever state that smooth modifier was in is then "final."
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.