SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / terrain generation
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-05-2003, 01:26 AM   #1
darkwing25
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default terrain generation

How do you make terrain using maya? Is there any way to make a terrain from a grayscale bitmap?
darkwing25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 01:44 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I don't think you can in Maya. Sorry.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 02:10 AM   #3
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Of course he can Darkware.

He could map a displacement texture to a polygon plane with lotīs of subdivisions. I donīt know how he could bake it though, but Iīm sure others could have that answer.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 02:11 AM   #4
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There's several ways to go about it.

check these out:

SM Link 1

SM Link 2

SM Link 3
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 02:22 AM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

There are alot of ways to model terrain but one thing I just came across you might be interested in is a little plugin called DEM2TGA which converts 1:250,000 scale (DEM) data and creates a TGA (Targa Image) files from it. You can download USGS geographic data (in DEM format) via the web to base your geometry on actual terrain, convert to TGA and use that in a displacement map.

Other than that, you could use the sculpt surfaces tool to push and pull geometry into shape.....or just model the geometry by hand. This all I can think of off the top of my head.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 02:26 AM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Damn, I type slow....you guys beat me to the post (I forgot about that old mountain render in smhoward's 3rd link).
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."

Last edited by NitroLiq : 21-05-2003 at 02:32 AM.
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 02:33 AM   #7
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yes. There are a ton of terrain generator plugins for maya. Maybe not a ton, but a lot. Look at the plugin section of highend3d.com.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2003, 03:07 AM   #8
mshoward82
Registered User
 
mshoward82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

NitroLiq - That old mountain renderer is one of the greatest i've seen. I like it.

Oh, and sorry for stealing your thunder. LOL

See it can be done in Maya. Anything can be done in Maya. If you can imagine it it can be done. Somehow.
__________________
- Matt
mshoward82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 03:08 PM   #9
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Check out Terragen....I looked around for some info on exporting to maya and the closest I got was something for 3d max...anyways check it out.


http://www.terrasource.net/#workwith

http://www.planetside.co.uk/terragen/
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2003, 05:54 PM   #10
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Like was said in in smhoward's 3rd link, to "BAKE" the displacement, you would simply convert your displacement to polygons, and smooth
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2003, 05:12 AM   #11
Bond
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Or try just making a really large plane and then use the sculpt tool and pull the terrain up. works for me.
Bond is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.