Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 21-07-2020 , 05:37 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2

some python function is not working in maya?

hi, i am new to python ... recently i had watched some tutorial about python. and i try it, it work in IDLE but when i apply in MAYA it doesn't work... am i doing wrong?

the sample given in tutorial :
s = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
a, *b, c = s
>>a
1
..b
2, 3, 4
>>c
5


and here what i tried in maya2018:
import maya.cmds as cmds
selObj = cmds.ls(sl=1) #(i did select few item in maya)
a,*b = selObj
print (a)

and i get # Error: invalid syntax #

thanks in advance for spending timeuser added image

# 2 03-09-2020 , 10:02 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Asterisk (*) unpacking is introduced in python 3 , Maya still uses python 2 so this method won't work
Instead you can use this code:
import maya.cmds as cmds
selObj = cmds.ls(sl=1)
a,b = selObj[0],selObj[1:]
print a
print b

# 3 27-07-2021 , 06:38 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 1
Its because in Python 3, print statement has been replaced with a print() function, with keyword arguments to replace most of the special syntax of the old print statement. But if you write this in a program and someone using Python 2.x tries to run it, they will get an error. To avoid this, it is a good practice to import print function:

from __future__ import print_function

Now your code works on both python2 and python3

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads