Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-06-2003, 05:58 PM   #1
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Boolean an extruded face?

Im having a hard time booleaning an extruded face, I'm trying to cut round holes in a cube and when I do the cube Disappears, I can do it fine when the cube is not extruded, just when the cube is transformed. any help would be grate,,
Thanks for your time
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2003, 08:16 PM   #2
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, that is the major problem I have found with booleans. If you extrude, or use a deformer on them, they disappear or creat a phontom face running from the object to the origin.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2003, 08:17 PM   #3
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Dam,, do you have 5.0?
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2003, 12:15 AM   #4
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

4.5
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2003, 12:20 AM   #5
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

(I already answered R-Tillery on IRC, but I'll repeat it here.)

Delete history on your target object before applying the boolean. Most of the time, deleting history will solve a lot of problems.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2003, 01:45 AM   #6
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yea I had to delete the history on the two objects or (brushes) Cube and the object I use to cut with. every thing worked grate... thanks Dan
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2003, 03:14 AM   #7
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yup. But that will not always work. Good tip Danny!
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 04:49 AM   #8
R-Tillery
Subscriber
 
R-Tillery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ventura California
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Is any one successful at Booleaning an extruded surface? If so, please if you could explain how you did it? I have done it last time on a cube but now I have a diffrent shape and its not working. there all polys but no luck
R-Tillery is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.