SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / how to disable skin
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-06-2003, 07:13 PM   #1
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default how to disable skin

i have this very annoying problem that my character is so slow when i smooth bind the skin that it is not even funny. when i only manipulte the skeleton w/o skin it works in realtime. is there a way to disable skin calculation while i only animate and dont care to see the skin move? i tried to export the skin weights, unbind the skin - and rebind the skin and import skin weights - but that did not want to work correctly. disabling the skeleton deformer from the inputs to the character did not work either - it was still too slow for interactive placement of the bones - infact it did not seam to have any gain in performance.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 07:28 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I usually delete everything's history before binding, to make sure nothing else is being caluculated, except maybe necessary things like Blend Shapes.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 09:53 PM   #3
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtmckinley
I usually delete everything's history before binding, to make sure nothing else is being caluculated, except maybe necessary things like Blend Shapes.
ok, i am out of ideas. i removed everything - only left the shape of the body and the skeleton.

before you bind it - all works fine. after smoothbinding there must be an exponentional slower thing

the feet mover work ok after binding, so does the hand, but really slow. but once you touch the root bone and rotate it - not working very fast.

here is the file to look at (the skin is not bound in it). if someone finds the reason it is so slow after the default smoothbinding, i would like to know as well.

file is in 4.5
Attached Files
File Type: ma skel.ma (336.7 KB, 14 views)
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 10:22 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I'm at work, so can't view your file, but it might just be that it's slow just because... the higher resolution model, the slower it'll be to try to move it with it bound.

For my cartoon Mike model, I never rotated joints with the model visible... too slow.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 10:37 PM   #5
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just did a smooth bind on your mesh, and everything is running in real-time on my Powerbook. How fast is your machine, and what kind of graphics card are you running?
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 10:41 PM   #6
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

thanks mike for the hint - i got it all fixed. not that the "invisible" helped, i tryed and it did not help at all. but i seen my big big mistake. it was doing fk, when the ik handles were all enabled. i can "rotate" the root now - i just added another ik handle from root to the next spine1.

interesting - i just made the skeleton more complex, and get awarded with real time.
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2003, 10:45 PM   #7
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dannyngan
I just did a smooth bind on your mesh, and everything is running in real-time on my Powerbook. How fast is your machine, and what kind of graphics card are you running?
you can have all in realtime - here it has a fit when i rotate the root joint, not using the mover things on hand and feet.

i smoothbound with complete skeleton, closest joint, max influence 5 and drop off rate 4 - the default.

my machine
a tb 1.3 mhz
512 mb sdram
but only a gf2mx400 - softquadroed

i think i should upgrade my machine - will do that when i come to the us
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.