SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Large numbers of duplicated objects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2003, 11:11 PM   #1
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Large numbers of duplicated objects

hi guys I am creating an animation with lots of spiders in it running around over some terrain. I've run into a problem when it comes to duplicating the objects.

At the moment I have it setup so that i have three models each with their own animation /ik/geometry etc. And all grouped together:

e.g. spiderGroup1, spiderGroup2, spiderGroup3.

Now what I want to do is select a random one of those and duplicate it so that I have another one (which then gets it's keyframe xyz translations and rotations loaded in via MEL). The models and animation are quite simple and only last for 200 frames at the moment.

The problem I get is that after about 40 duplications maya starts to fall over and die eventually crashing into a pile of 0's and 1's and begging for mercy

Is there a simpler way of doing this? maybe instancing? maybe referencing? or even dummy objects that are replaced at rendertime with the correct ones? or even using readArchive() from PRman to load up the animation at rendertime?

Please any help with this would be fantastic


Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 03:45 AM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Looks like you may have answered that yourself

Try Instancing your geometry to particles, and when you do so, there are simple ways to just watch cubes and/or lowres version(s) of your objects/characters then switch over to your full characters at render time.

Then try the Renderman thing
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 01:20 PM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

i got it done!

Just in case people hit this prob here's what I did:

Create a group with my skinned chacacter bones and all. Then instance the geometry only. Move the geometry outside of the group and then parent it to a locator. You can then key the locator to move around the scene whilst having your animation from the original character (e.g a walk cycle) still playing

Fantastic


Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 01:52 PM   #4
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

that is a cool trick - did you try to test it with a few thousand instances ??

good luck for the project - time is running out slowly :p
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 02:12 PM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

ok i've done 200 and I'm gearing up for a big one (coupla thousand) but i need to make some changes first and then see if my c++ can handle it!
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2003, 03:04 PM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

COOL M8!!!!!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.