SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / unwrapping problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-07-2003, 09:15 PM   #1
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default unwrapping problems

i binded, weighted and animated a character... then afterwards i unwrapped a part of his body and now when i scroll through the animation... the part that i unwrapped moves around.... is there any way to stop that without detaching the skin and re-doing everything
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 09:45 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

did you apply a texture?

You may need to apply a texture reference object.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 09:56 PM   #3
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah i applied a texture.... and it keeps moving around... i just want to know how to lock it so it doesn't do that... there is no problem with it before i rig and animate the character....
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 09:59 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

just to clarify, is it a 3D texture? If so, you'd definitely need to make a texture reference object.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 10:30 PM   #5
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

umm yes it is... it's a skin texture for my character.... and how would i apply a texture reference object?
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 10:38 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

It's been a while, but if I remember correctly, you select the model, shift select the material and under the Rendering module, select Texturing > Create Texture Reference Object. I'll try to figure it out after work if that's not correct. You could also look it up in the F1 help if that's not right.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 11:13 PM   #7
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tried it and it doesn't stop the texturing from moving =/
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 11:23 PM   #8
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

are you projecting a 3d texture onto a surface?
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2003, 11:32 PM   #9
dark-link
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Surrey BC
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

maybe this will help.... here's a screenshot at frame 1 and one at frame 5.... now this guy had already been weighted and animated.... but i unwrapped his ears again afterwards... then this started happening.... notice the unwrapped mesh on the right side...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	blah.gif
Views:	43
Size:	156.3 KB
ID:	9321  
dark-link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003, 01:17 AM   #10
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

from your screens, it doesn't look like it's a 3D texture at all. If so, then a Texture Reference Object is not the solution. I'm not sure why that would be happening except in the case of projection texturs perhaps?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2003, 04:19 AM   #11
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

That's what I was thinkin too Mike...

Maybe you need to parent the 2d placement node to the geomery?

Try F1, and see if there is anything that might help you regarding texture "swiming".
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.