SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / rendering the wire frame?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-08-2003, 01:32 PM   #1
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rendering the wire frame?

Hello,

Can anyone help me with rendering the wire frame, or wireframe on shaded mode? I want to render my model with the wire frame on top of the geometry. I also just want to render just the wire frame.

I can't find any function for it in render options, and I donít want to FCheck then take it to Aftereffects because it would look very low res.

Anyone of you guys out there know how I can do this?

I have considered pulling it into Max, but there must be a way to keep in all in Maya.

Is there an option in the render global were I can turn the wire frame on for a final render?

Thanks ahead

MONK
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 01:37 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

You could, as has been mentioned before, take a UV Snapshot of your model and apply that as a transparancy map to your object, so only where the wireframe is will be visible.

There are plugins available from such sites with that kind of functionality also.

Aside from that, the only other thing in Maya's default ability that I can think of is a playblast.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 01:41 PM   #3
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

""You could, as has been mentioned before, take a UV Snapshot of your model and apply that as a transparancy map to your object, so only where the wireframe is will be visible. ""

very cool Mike!! thanks
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 01:46 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

lol if this question gets asked one more time I think I may shoot myself in the head! there's a search button.....there's a sticky thread that tells you to use it...... please use it....

Welcome to SM by the way

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 02:06 PM   #5
[icarus_uk]
Registered User
 
[icarus_uk]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Too near the sun
Posts: 501
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You could of course just use vector rendering. It comes with 5.0, just turn the pluggin on and choose vector rendering from the globals. Theres an option to turn on wire frame rendering as well as the thickness of the lines and colour etc. You need a fairly neat model though because you always get it in triangles, so a very busy model might look a bit cluttered.
__________________
[icarus_uk] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 02:14 PM   #6
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys. sorry i will use search inthe future
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2003, 02:56 PM   #7
3DMONK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh here i found another way..

all you have to do is open the Hardware Render Buffer, set it to render in wireframe mode (Render > Attributes)

MONK
3DMONK is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.