SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-09-2003, 04:09 PM   #1
rainnbutterfly
Registered User
 
rainnbutterfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: on my path
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mac or PC?

I am going to be purchasing a new machine to run 3d animation and editing software on. I am leaning towards the Mac G5. It seems like most jobs I look at want someone with Mac, Final Cut Pro, Shake, and Maya experience...which would obviously lead me in the direction of a Mac, but I know there is a lot more software available for Windows. What do most people here use? And which have they found is more helpful for getting into the industry?

:bgreen:
rainnbutterfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2003, 04:43 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I use PC, and so far, every studio I've worked at do as well.

Before this thread erupts, let it be known that both PC and Mac work equally effectively and there really is no huge defining reason not to get one over the other, at least, when it comes to Maya's performance.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2003, 12:38 AM   #3
realman
Registered User
 
realman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

MAC G5 better if compared to todays PC, you may still want to wait for AMD 64bit chip if you want a PC, but if you'll use compositing softwares that you mentioned i'd stay with MAC, it is much easier to work with and more stable.
realman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2003, 01:06 AM   #4
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtmckinley


Before this thread erupts, let it be known that both PC and Mac work equally effectively and there really is no huge defining reason not to get one over the other, at least, when it comes to Maya's performance.
Other than cost!

As for the G5 being faster than the fastest PC's. Best to wait for some benchmarking. I think Apple did some of thier own against Intel but disabled hyperthreading? I wonder why. It may be the G5 is going to be the fastest machine around but i have my doubts. As for the Athlon 64, it's out now but you may as welll wait until the software is around to take advantage of it. Also going to be a bit expensive in it's early days.

It's totally your choice though and the decision is really made for you depending on the software you want to use. If you're going to use Shake, then it's mac only unfortunately.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2003, 02:59 AM   #5
Saiyan
Registered User
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

PC...considering that the majority of software is made for PC....at least for a time anyways :p
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2003, 02:06 PM   #6
rainnbutterfly
Registered User
 
rainnbutterfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: on my path
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah...this is all what i thought...hmmm....what to do...what to do...well, thanks for the replies...we'll see where my money goes in the next few weeks
rainnbutterfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:45 PM   #7
Soviut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm running Maya 5 on a PC at home, and the same version on a Mac for my classes. As long as you have a 3 button mouse for your mac there is generally no difference in how the two systems operate. As was mentioned before, what it really comes down to is price. I've been able to build a brand new dual 2.4Ghz Xeon system for about $2000 CND, that's about $1500 USD. Compare that with the price of a 2Ghz dual G5, i think it's about $3000+ USD. So going the PC route, even with workstation-calibre parts is still only about half the price and the same level of performance.
Soviut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2003, 12:48 AM   #8
3dgurl
Subscriber
 
3dgurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I have never had the need to use a mac. I grew up using a mac/apple but never knew there was better out there til i hit highschool and afterwards never went back to the mac again.
__________________
3dgurl is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.