SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Aligning vertices?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-11-2003, 12:26 AM   #1
danielh68
Subscriber
 
danielh68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Aligning vertices?

Hi,

Is there a way to align selected vertices, horizontally or vertically?

Thanks,
Dan
danielh68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 12:40 AM   #2
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Use the scale tool, should work good for you.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 01:03 AM   #3
danielh68
Subscriber
 
danielh68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Kurt,

Generally that's what I use, however sometimes the selection is at an angle, likewise the scale tool is also at an angle. The results are produced from that odd angle. What I have to do from this point is take the rotate tool and rotate to either the x or y plane.

I hate to use Adobe Illustrator as an example since it is 2D, but it too has x & y coordinates. In Illustrator, I can select any number of points and average them all to either the x or y plane. It's perfectly straight.

It seems with the scale tool, I have a few steps and I'm guessing whether the selected vertices are perfectly straight or not.

The scale tool is fine, but I was wondering if there was another method.

Thanks for your expertise,
Dan
danielh68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 01:28 AM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Poly or nurbs smooth tool would work also just use it a low level.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 02:38 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...&threadid=8844
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 02:39 AM   #6
danielh68
Subscriber
 
danielh68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Kurt, that's a helpful alternative.

Just curious, if one is using Maya to create something with a lot of hard edges and exact alignment, such as a building does one refer to the scale tool? Perhaps, it is in the way I'm using it, but it seems I sort of eyeball it...meaning that it appears straight but I have no coordinate menu to verify it. Or do I?

In the case of a building, wouldn't that be necessary?

Your ( or anyone's ) thought's are appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan
danielh68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 02:41 AM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I use scale all the time for lining up straight edges
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 02:55 AM   #8
danielh68
Subscriber
 
danielh68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mtmckinley, thanks for the thread. Just learned something new. I wasn't aware that there were other viewpoints. Now going through all of them, I forgotten the default. I'm assuming it's world?

I really intend to download more tutorials about Maya. After the Dragon tut, I started my own model and I wanted to reach a stopping point. Due to my real job that stopping point has been prolonged. Nevertheless, I'll post in a day or two and then proceed with some tuts which I then can apply to my model.

again, thanks everyone.
danielh68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2003, 02:58 AM   #9
danielh68
Subscriber
 
danielh68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, Kurt. I appreciate your help. :-)
danielh68 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.