SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-11-2003, 11:50 AM   #1
Ra1Der
Registered User
 
Ra1Der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Curved surface

I am designing a churchill tank so I thought I would draw my surface in freehand and export as an AI file I can loft between surfaces, but when I want to fill the gap in I am not sure how I go about doing so.
__________________
I am not worthy!
Ra1Der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 12:28 PM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

maybe we could see a pic so we know what gap ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 04:41 PM   #3
Ra1Der
Registered User
 
Ra1Der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I managed to figure out what went wrong, I had to many points, but I am now wonderin if I am going about this the right way, I thought I should use Freehand to create the vbarious profiles for the tank but the more an dmore I get into it, I am thinking perhaps I should be using polys. Which would you go for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	churchill7.gif
Views:	69
Size:	29.4 KB
ID:	11704  
__________________
I am not worthy!
Ra1Der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 06:28 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

my vote - polys.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 06:34 PM   #5
Ra1Der
Registered User
 
Ra1Der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

right then um ok pollys it is! :-s would you recomend making those images into a plane serface for me to work against? only not to sure how to go about that, I see they do it in alot of tutorials
__________________
I am not worthy!
Ra1Der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 06:52 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

couldn't hurt.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 07:04 PM   #7
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Cut them up in PS or whatever you use. Then open Maya. Choose the view you want the plane in and go View > Select Camera, then press Ctrl + A to open the attributes editor, scroll down to "Environments" and expand that tab. Click create image plane, then just choose your image.

I think that's right anway.

Also if it's slowing you down alot go back the the image plane attributes and change the display mode to RGB not RGBA as you don't need and alpha channel and change "all views" to "look through selected"

Last edited by ckyuk : 23-11-2003 at 07:06 PM.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 07:20 PM   #8
Ra1Der
Registered User
 
Ra1Der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Many thanks guys I got them in and I shall start to somehow build this tank lol, how do I move the planes though?
__________________
I am not worthy!

Last edited by Ra1Der : 23-11-2003 at 07:23 PM.
Ra1Der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 07:27 PM   #9
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ra1der,

If you look in our free video section, we have a video on setting up image planes and reference. That should help you out in setting your images up. Here's a direct link:

Image Planes and Reference

Once you learn the basics of that. KB's refplanes script in our MEL section will speed things up for you as far as setting up the actual planes.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2003, 08:34 PM   #10
Ra1Der
Registered User
 
Ra1Der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

very good tutorial thanks for pointing it out to me!
__________________
I am not worthy!
Ra1Der is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.