SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / RAID 1 on an existing volume?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2003, 08:24 PM   #1
neoarcadia
Registered User
 
neoarcadia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RAID 1 on an existing volume?

I know this isnt a tech support for RAID, but I'm bored and messing with a computer. I have 2 80 gig hard drives, and a motherboard that supports RAID. If i already have a volume setup on one of the hard drives, do I need to blow it out and start over to use Raid 1 or is there a way to have it copy everything from the existing drive to the new one on its own?

I didn't think i should post it in the tech support section, because it wasn't Maya related.. But correct me if I was wrong

Just figured someone in here has to be RAID savvy enough to answer that question. As for as i know you have to start from scratch, but I know very little about RAID (First time using it). The only problem is it will be a pain in the butt to backup that drive, but not impossible, just trying to think of easier ways.. Anyway, again, only curious. I tweek stuff and do weird things when bored. :bgreen:
__________________
eat the corn--
neoarcadia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 07:44 PM   #2
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Well i think the first question to ask yourself is why do you need to have a RAID setup? You only have two drives. It's not going to improve your speed if that's what you're trying to accomplish. Fo that, you'll need SCSI drives. A RAID ( Redundant Array of Independent Drives) is basically for file storage with lots of drives connected.

but considering I probably know as much about RAIDs as you do, I coul dbe wrong. But from what I do know, that's just about right.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:10 PM   #3
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

RAID 1 isnt for making it go faster its for backing up all of your files automaticaly.

How ever if what you ARE trying to do is make it write 1/2 file on one, an 1/2 on another, making it go twice as fast, then thats RAID 0.

Either way, you have to clear them and start a new array to do it.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:48 PM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

and don't they need to be on a RAID controler ? I meen the IDE contections will not work will they ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 02:19 AM   #5
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: RAID 1 on an existing volume?

Quote:
Originally posted by neoarcadia
and a motherboard that supports RAID.
I take that as he has built in RAID. If you dont have it built in, jstu one that supports the card, then you need the card. Unless you do software RAID, but that is a bad idea!
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.