SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2003, 08:09 PM   #1
Psichosix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Render help

The models that are in the gallery...for example the Akira Clown. What kind of render was used, I guess I dont know the question to ask but how do you render something to look like that. I like that look of the greyscale of the model.
Psichosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 08:23 PM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hi there done with eather global Illumination or FinalGather. In Maya's software render you can fake GI with a mel script called GI_Joe. It makes a lot of lights in a dome set up.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 01:47 PM   #3
Psichosix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help. Are there any special settings that one would need to use?
Psichosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2003, 07:30 PM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

no. use the defalt that comes with it. for the most part. I would not use more than 64 top lights and no more than 16 underneath.. I delit the ground lights my self. There really isn't much quality difrence between 64 and 256 lights on the dome and you take so much time penalty for it.

Change the intinity on the sky lights just a little. befor the first render. I don't know if anyone has the same probem.. but the light seem to need to be set at first or they miscouculat and are to bright.. If you don't change them buy like .01 the first time thin it renders really bright and your like oh need to tern it down. so you do and thin you get one that is really dark. it can be confusing. So after doing that right off you shoudl be able to tune it right up.

about tuneing. for any tuning on a render I would put in a couple of simple poly sphears with your shaders on them. or low res textures. and keep the shadows terned down on the res. use the dmap shadows..

use dmap shadows, raytraced shadows will be a nightmare with that many lights..

just some pointers of top of my head.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2003, 12:42 AM   #5
Psichosix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have been trying to use this script but cannot get it to work. I have changed the location of my file but when I run the script nothing happens? Is there anything else I need to change
Psichosix is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.