SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Geometry disappears behind Image Plane

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
 
Thread Tools
16-12-2003, 11:33 AM   #1
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Geometry disappears behind Image Plane
Hi

I want to model using an image plane as background for the modeling.

It works fine putting on a image in the front and the side camera, and i can squeeze it back and forth in the attribute editor.

BUT - when i make my geometry, a sphere, and i try to wiev it in my 'side-wiev' it is ALWAYS behind the image plane!

I have tried to dolly the camera back and forth, turning of and on "fixed / looking through camera" - NOTHING :-( My Geometry is STILL behind the image plane!

What am i doing wrong?
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 11:53 AM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
move the image plane to the other side. You can do this whare you put the image in.
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 12:02 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
I would recomend using geometry image planes rather than the camera-attached variety. Easier to handle.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 12:03 PM   #4
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Hmm!

I am not sure i follow! I have posted the file on the same URL as before! Will u take a look it ?

http://konceptsalg.jubii.dk/rene/

// The Brother
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 12:34 PM   #5
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
what mike says is to make poly plane then texture each plane with the reference image. then go to 6 shaded view and you can see the image then create a layer and reference it so you cant edit it when you have them moved into position.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 12:39 PM   #6
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Yeah! I know! Thanks!

I did'nt reply on Mikes post, but Ponys post, and i still dont understand what he wants me to do :-)

But thank u for replying! I know it is the easiet way to do the 'image plane' --> to attach it to a Geometry Plane instead of the Camera.

HOWEVER - i don't understand why this problem occur and i HATE when i don't understand why problems occure.....!

:-)
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 12:48 PM   #7
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Ok I see.

I think he ment if you cant see the geometry behind the image plane you can move to the other side of the grid .

Go to the view you want to move the image plane and in the window select view/select camera then in the channel box select image plane and you will see a bunch of options move the image plane into position

center x,y,z

this way the geometry will not protrude thu te image and you wont see it.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 12:57 PM   #8
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Hi 3djoe

Thanx again for replying :-)

BUT - that is excactly what i ment......no matter WHAT i do for centering the image plane in x, y and z, still the geometry is behind the image plane!

It is VERY weird - u could, if u want and have the time, try to download the "project-files" from the URL i have posted.

There u can see what is wrong and why i am so frustrated.

Thanx again :-)
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 01:47 PM   #9
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
sorry I wasn't more clear. 3djoe explained me very well though.. LOL
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 01:59 PM   #10
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Still cant figure it out --> look at the image


Hi guys!

It is not because i do not understand what u are saying - i do, i do :-)

BUT! Changing the x, y and z center does not solve my problem - i am sorry. ( I REALLY appriciate ur respons though )

SO! That is why i have uploaded this picture - so u can see what is going on in my .mb-file!

Take a look at it, plz :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	imageplane.jpg
Views:	1339
Size:	296.3 KB
ID:	12120  
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 02:36 PM   #11
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
sounds like a video card issue.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 02:37 PM   #12
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Ok I see your problem with the front view!

Got to the front view panel select

view/predefined bookmarks/
then select back or front and the view should change.
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 02:57 PM   #13
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
The never ending story.......
Hi again 3djoe

I'm so so so so so sorry, but that did'nt solve my problem either

I can understand if you now choose to throw in the towel...:-)

Down below i will post two images - one with the bookmark as front, and one as back.

Again - thank u for replying! :-)
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 02:59 PM   #14
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Never ending story POST I ( front )
Bookmark >> Front
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bookmark_front.jpg
Views:	1302
Size:	271.1 KB
ID:	12121  
  Reply with quote
16-12-2003, 03:00 PM   #15
Uglynakedguy
Registered User
 
Uglynakedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 75
Never ending story POST II ( back )
Bookmark >> back
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bookmark_back.jpg
Views:	1303
Size:	282.6 KB
ID:	12122  
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Image Plane In Viewport 2.0? & TazzyUK Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 25-03-2016 06:48 PM
Use Background Shader & Animated Image Plane mdk1984 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 18-04-2015 04:49 AM
Zoom camera with image plane attached defiant3d Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 30-01-2013 03:19 PM
import image to polygon plane aerende Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 05-08-2009 01:30 AM
Texturing a plane: How to maintain image ratio? lori_hunter Maya Materials & Textures 1 01-03-2005 02:32 AM