SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / nVidia GeForce FX5700
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2004, 09:08 AM   #1
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question nVidia GeForce FX5700

I had a problem with my Quadro board this weekend and so am having it repaired/replaced . I expect this will take a few weeks (things happen s-l-o-w-l-y in France).

In the meantime I am thinking of picking up a GeForce FX5700 that I can use as a backup card. Does anyone have any experience with this card and Maya? I will be running dualscreen, so if you have any experience with that please let me know.

Thanks all!
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 04:54 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I just got the "ultra" version of this card, and it seems fine.

Not sure about the "non-ultra".

There are a few VERY small issues with redraw of the viewports when you "maximize" the viewport.
(workaround: just deselect, then reselect anything)

I made a small mel that does this for me so it is no longer a hassle for me.

Other than that, it ROCKS

Pretty cheap too, as I picked mine up from newegg.com "Saturday night" for $123.00.

However that sale is over now, and it is back to $191.00
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 08:17 AM   #3
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I picked up a 256mb version yesterday from a dealer here in Paris. It's by PixelView and has lots of funky "tuning" features such as a bright blue illuminated fan and all that crap.

Anyway, I plugged it in last night and it runs great. Dual-screen no problem at all. It runs about as fast as the Quadro4-980XGL.

I too get the viewport refresh problem; switching from persp to 4-view and back but it seems a quick play with the timeslider fixes it no problem. Another minor pain is if I have Maya open at the same time as QuickTime and drag a Maya window over the QT window, QT crashes.

Still - it's nice to have both monitors up and running again!

I was thinking that I would sell the FX5700 on eBay when the Quadro is repaired, but I like it so much thatI think I'll hang onto it and build my wifes replacement PC around it.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2004, 07:03 AM   #4
Divideby0
Registered User
 
Divideby0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi,

I've been shopping for a vCard for a new PC and Im trying to pick out one that supports dual-monitors. What characteristic am I looking for that tells me the card in question will support an extended desktop?

For example, Would this work? what would tell me?:

GAINWARD GeForce FX 5600 ULTRA Video Card
Chipset/Core Speed: GeForce FX 5600ULTRA/350MHz
Memory/Effective Speed: 128MB DDR/700MHz
BUS: AGP 1X/2X/4X/8X
Ports: VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub)+VIVO+DVI connector
Support 3D API: DirectX®9, OpenGL®1.4
Cable/Accessories: VGA via DVI Adapter, VIVO&Power Cables, 3 CD, Manual
Max Resolution@32bit Color: 2048X1536@75Hz
__________________
"Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men's blood and probably themselves will not be realized."
- Daniel Burnham, Chicago architect. (1864-1912)
Divideby0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2004, 08:47 AM   #5
rich
Subscriber
 
rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 418
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Look at the out-ports. A monitor usually uses either a VGA or DVI-D port. So in the case of the FX600, you have a VGA and a DVI connector ... dual monitor support.
__________________
That'll do donkey... that'll do...
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.