SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-01-2004, 02:40 AM   #1
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default Wire frame rendering in vector

Hey guys whats the best way to render wire frames on top of the grey model? I can get something like what i want on vector but it shows the tris not in the wire frame. Is there a setting to get ride of the tris and just have the quads?
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 03:08 AM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

you have your models perminatly in tris now ? If so you might have to go through and delite the tris edges to get back to quad.

how are you doing the vector render to get the wire.. I'll have a look.

if you tryed to convert to quads using the poly menu it might work but they might not be layed out right still.

You could use the UV snapshot as a texture.. and just erase the edges to get it back to quads... that would be a fast way with out messing up your geo..
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 03:10 AM   #3
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

All models are in quads mate. just shows up as tri in vector... I'll keep playing
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 04:35 AM   #4
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Let me know if the vector keeps giving you problems.. I'll try it my self.

If the vector way becomes a problem there are more than one way to skin this cat.. I know 4 off the top of my head. 1's real slow though..
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 05:09 AM   #5
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Post up the 4 mate...
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 07:35 AM   #6
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

ok 1.. do a UV snap shot as usual. at high ress. with alaising ticked. 2048x2048. Color UV and background to taste in photoshop and use it as the texture. works in render.

2. use wire data I think is the mel from highend. it creats nurbs cylinders in place of the wires.. it dosn't look as good and slows things down.. especaly for a terntable. works in render.

3. use hardware rendering buffer with wireframe on in your persp view. You can have it do more than one iritation for each frame and get it aniti alaised.. looking for some settings now..

to do..

duplicat the model, rename new object to wireWhatEverName.

on its first tab in attribute editer, open the display section,
drawing overrides sub-section. tick the Enable overrides
check box. tern off shading. pick your color for the wire
hear also.

with the wireWhatEverName still selected start up the sculpt
polygon tool. Have it set to pull.
Set strength to 1. Opacity 1. Max Displacement to .02
(might need ajusting if wires don't show good.. and I
remmeber you model biger in the sean than I do.) and
press flood. this makes the wire object just a little bigger
so it dosn't fight in the sorting buffer with under object.

Open your hardware render buffer. In the attributes of it you
will want multi pass rendering on. something like 9
passes, anti alias polygons on also..
render in that.



This should make a nice smooth wire for you. you will want it to hardware render the original object though so it can block the back faces..

you can use this to render out the wire with the back ground and blocker both black so you can composit on to a render also.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 10:00 PM   #7
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

gess thease didn't help ?
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2004, 10:26 PM   #8
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I found a good one mate thanks for the help=)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2004, 10:08 AM   #9
strarup
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 338
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Kurt,


maybe you can use this tutorial Jozvex has made... "Single Sided Wireframe Rendering in Maya (all geo types!)"... -->
http://www.jozvex.com/tutorials/wireframe.html


regards

Strarup
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Alex V. U. Strarup

One mistake can ruin it all...
strarup is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.