Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 05-12-2006 , 12:30 AM
Acid44
Guest
Posts: n/a

maya to 3ds eporter/importer

i need a maya to .3ds exporter/importer plugin so i can finish my brothers game can someone please post a link to one for me

thanx in advanceuser added image


Last edited by Acid44; 05-12-2006 at 03:03 AM.
# 2 05-12-2006 , 04:54 PM
gster123's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
What version of maya are you in? If its 8 i thinik that one of the upgardes from 7 was the inclusion of an autodesk format so that you can go between max and maya, having said that ive never tried it as im on maya 6, so i couldent say if its any good or not.


"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 3 06-12-2006 , 04:20 AM
Acid44
Guest
Posts: n/a
im on maya 7 so ill look into that upgrade


BTW: what about exporting to game file cause thats what i really need to do so is there software packages i can get for that?user added image


Last edited by Acid44; 06-12-2006 at 04:24 AM.
# 4 06-12-2006 , 10:41 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Exporting to game?

Uhm... which game? UnrealEngine runs ActorX...?

# 5 06-12-2006 , 01:40 PM
publicFunction's Avatar
Senior Software Developer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Best to use the FBX export/import tool for Maya and Max (only if you have Max tho, or someone who can import it).

Other than that Maya 8 allows export to 3ds, but Maya 7 has no native export tools for 3ds. Have a gander at Autodesks "The-Area" site and see if there is anything in there.


Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
# 6 06-12-2006 , 07:47 PM
Acid44
Guest
Posts: n/a
im not doing the actual game modeling in max im doing it in a free ware program called z modeler which can import max files i just figured it would be easier to model in maya convert to 3ds and import to zmodeler to make the dummys and collision files

the models need to ultimately be in vice city's .dff format...
pain in the ass:headbang:

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads