Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 21-01-2011 , 09:41 AM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,218

Free Friday Tutorial #5: Mental Ray Approximation Editor Basic

Maya Tutorial Mental Ray Approximation Editor on Vimeo

A very brief look at the Mental Ray Approximation Editor. This tutorial is intended for people that have no idea what the Mental Ray Approximation Editor is. If your sitting there thinking what on earth is it, then watch this.


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 2 21-01-2011 , 11:58 AM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
As I am having GREAT trouble with my Spitfire etc David in the challenge (I will be pulling out) as my laptop simply just isnt powerful enough...this AE will be better off for me when I do render to retain as much CPU resources as I can??? is this the case?

Cheers Ant


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 3 21-01-2011 , 12:05 PM
David's Avatar
SM Tea Boy
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Prague
Posts: 3,218
Mate as it depends on your scene and the objects in it. Try it and see is the best answer i can give.

In some cases it will be faster in some slower. Not the answer you where looking for I know.

Dave


From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
# 4 21-01-2011 , 12:10 PM
honestdom's Avatar
The Nurb Herd
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381

As I am having GREAT trouble with my Spitfire etc David in the challenge (I will be pulling out) as my laptop simply just isnt powerful enough...this AE will be better off for me when I do render to retain as much CPU resources as I can??? is this the case?

Cheers Ant

would you like some community collective render power?

# 5 21-01-2011 , 09:09 PM
Jay's Avatar
Lead Modeler - Framestore
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,287
this is good to see, its very very useful.

I introduced this to the guys on my team at work, even my 3d supervisor, as they had never heard of it. I was concerned that because our work is quite heavily detailed there would be problems as we are not using renderman. this is a cool little nugget to know.

The thing for me is that despite having some seriously powerful gear to work on, the cards can only take so much when heavy scenes are complete, so by not using keyboard 3, and doing a render with a node attached to the model instead is a bloody god send, just like the renderman sd node!!

nice one Dave

Jay

# 6 21-01-2011 , 10:24 PM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
At the moment dom yes LOL.....or a rather good holiday...though everywhere east of me seems to be inundated with water LOL. I will have to get a new rig for the house...nowhere to put it though...I may be banned to the man shed out the back when this new baby comes.

cheers bullet


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 7 22-01-2011 , 12:25 AM
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks for this tutorial. Sounds like it'd be good for my Park scene and animation when the time comes for smoothing it out.

# 8 04-04-2011 , 04:03 AM
RockyMills_01's Avatar
Subscriber
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St. Kitts, Caribbean
Posts: 235
Brilliant,
Another thing about Maya I didn't know about

# 9 04-08-2012 , 10:19 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4

Mental Ray Approximation Editor

yes, your absolutely correct, never heard of this before in any Mental Ray tutorial.
great stuff, thanks Dave...

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads