Substance Painter
In this start to finish texturing project within Substance Painter we cover all the techniques you need to texture the robot character.
# 1 10-01-2013 , 12:23 PM

Hello SimplyMaya

Hello, I'm Vinnyboiler. I'm trying to get a feel for online modeling communities while getting feedback on my work at the same time. What I'm currently modeling via Maya is a realistic furniture set for a video game mod.

user added image
user added image
user added image

I'm currently having issues with texturing since I'm trying to texture though Photoshop CS6's 3D texturing features.

Here's wire-frames in case you wanted to look at the models via that.
user added image
user added image
user added image

I'd say I'm still a beginner when it comes to 3D modeling so any advice and critique would be very appreciative.

# 2 10-01-2013 , 12:55 PM
Your items are looking good are any of these brake up items ?

You know you have been working too long in cg when your out side and you look up at the trees and say

"Wow that's spectacular resolution ."
# 3 10-01-2013 , 08:01 PM
Super Moderator
Hello Vinnyboiler and welcome to SM! I'm a little skeptical of Photoshop's 3D capabilities but I guess I'll never know til I try it. I'd say you're off to a good start. But you never did describe your texturing problems. A couple things I noticed, the chair back looks really thin in that 3/4 view so that looks a bit strange. Also you could probably cut down the poly count on that and give the cushion a bit more resolution, see pic and those are just the edges that you can get rid of, I'm sure it can be streamlined more.

Added: The red marker for the edge in the middle of the chair back is meant to represent the entire edge loop running down the middle of the frame.

Attached Images

- Genny

Last edited by Gen; 10-01-2013 at 08:07 PM. Reason: clear up something about the edits
# 4 10-01-2013 , 11:43 PM
Lifetime Member