Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 2
This course will look in the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. It's aimed at people that have some modeling experience in Maya but are having trouble with complex objects.
# 1 19-03-2005 , 02:35 AM
Subscriber

NEwby SNIPER

OK everyone, I am a newbie to maya. Although I have worked with it only for a few months. And you guessed it, I only have PLE right now. So with all of that in mind, will you take a look at my sniper rifle. So far I have stayed away from the clip and body, along with the foregrip (mostly because they seem the hardest). But PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE give me some critisicm(?) on this. Even if it is bad I wont care. I have not really started to much on this so when you see a ring near the scope just floating out there, it is because I havn't figured out a way to create the billow that connects them. (like I said, I am newb). And one more thing, the shaders that I have used right now are so basic, they are only used to tell the difference between the undetailed parts.

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 19-03-2005 , 02:37 AM
Subscriber
Different View

Attached Thumbnails
# 3 19-03-2005 , 02:39 AM
Subscriber
One last one

Attached Thumbnails
# 4 19-03-2005 , 03:27 AM
Technical Director
Update to Maya PLE 6. It has a better watermark.

It looks good, but dont smooth the model.

Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 5 19-03-2005 , 08:12 AM
Subscriber
That's looking really good,

No criticism from me. Here's a tip for the billows though, make a profile of them with the cv curve tool then make a surface from it using revolve. Good luck,

Mat.

# 6 19-03-2005 , 03:39 PM
Subscriber
Ok, thx all for the help.

Peltra : Ok, I upgraded to PLE 6 and I agree, the water mark is WAY better. I really don't understand what you mean by "dont smooth the model" (it is made mostly in nurbs)