SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Animated Texture - How do I loop it?

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-04-2008, 08:11 AM   #1
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
Animated Texture - How do I loop it?
I've got a simple animated texture, just 5 frames.

I've got them working--meaning the object I want the texture to appear on recognizes everything correctly. As I scrub through the time line, the first 5 frames are correct.

Now I need to loop them (post infinity > cycle), and for the life of me I can't get it to work. I've been searching for an answer forever and haven't found what I'm looking for.

Any help?

Last edited by INOX; 10-04-2008 at 08:22 AM.
  Reply with quote
10-04-2008, 08:47 AM   #2
INOX
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 84
SOLVED!

Heh, I found it myself. Anyone who's interested:

Once you've got your texture animated, below the "Use Image Sequence" box that you've got checked, Maya has created an expression. You can see it in the "Image Number" box below, which has turned violet. (refer to attached image)

Right Click over "Image Number" and select "Edit Expression."

The expression will read something like this:

"file1.frameExtension=frame"

After "frame" simply add %x (where "x" = total number of frames to loop).

In my case, with five frames to loop, I edited the expression:

"file1.frameExtension=frame%5"


NICE!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	temp.jpg
Views:	5071
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	38747  
  Reply with quote
13-04-2017, 01:53 AM   #3
thingmaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Still works, 9 years later... Thanks!
  Reply with quote
04-12-2017, 11:08 AM   #4
slumberlander
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
hello,
sorry for the 9 years late answer. the %x expression works well but keyframes enable much more controls on the texture (as graph and driven keys for example)!

you can break connections for the expression in the channel box for your file texture (accessing it by uncheking dags object only in outliner) then keyframing the frame extension and post infinite it as you usually would...
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems Rendering Volume Lights in Mental Ray Connor Lee Lighting & Rendering 3 16-04-2013 02:43 PM
how would you create a 2d animated texture? Chirone Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 01-03-2011 08:31 AM
Animated Texture SiavashTheOne Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 11-02-2007 04:59 AM
loop movie texture farbtopf Programming 0 16-01-2006 05:46 PM
Texture on animated models Forlax Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 29-10-2005 09:03 PM