Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 23-11-2013 , 11:51 PM
Lifetime Member

Question about a Maya + Python project for school class.

Hi, My name is Devin. So, I am currently a student in a program at the University of New Mexico called IFDM (Interdisciplinary Film and Digital Media). It is a lot like say, Full Sail or the Savannah Animation Program.

They are teaching us how to create CGI VFX for Film, TV and Video Games. My specialty is Modeling, Texturing, and some Animation using software such as Maya, 3DS Max, Houdini, and Cinema 4D.

I am a second year Freshman. One class I have this year, is an "Intro to Python" class. For me this is a very hard class, in fact I failed the midterm and had to hire a professional tutor to help me get through the labs and study for the Final. Good news is if I do well on the Final, our teacher will throw out the midterm grade and replace it with the Final grade. However, we still need to do a final project.

Normally this would be doing a game of some sort (coding it in Python), but due to an unfortunate issue in my life (My mom battling cancer), our teacher is allowing me to do something that combines Maya (which I know pretty well), and Python...which I am getting better at, but still need a lot of help on.

So I met with my Maya I and II teacher and he brought up the idea of making a Python program within Maya that "replicates" say "rocks". It then duplicates them, randomly disperses them, and randomly changes their shape.

He did not tell me "ultimately" how hard this might me. It sounds cool, but I am wondering if someone on this forum could tell me two things

1: Is this already something that someone has actually done