Introduction to Maya - Modeling Fundamentals Vol 1
This course will look at the fundamentals of modeling in Maya with an emphasis on creating good topology. We'll look at what makes a good model in Maya and why objects are modeled in the way they are.
# 1 04-01-2013 , 12:50 AM

Help: Applying Bump Map to Select Faces

I don't know if i'm doing something wrong, or even if what I'm trying to do is even possible.

I want to apply a bump map of some text to the bottom of a bullet. The map would only need to be applied to the few faces on the bottom of the bullet, and I'm trying to do it this way because making a UV map for the whole bullet would take hours (if not days, because I'm pretty new to it)

Whenever I render it the bump map is applied all over in random places, despite my UV's being set up for only the butt end.

Is there a way to isolate the bump to the selected UV's/Faces? Or do i have to map the whole bullet and make a map for the whole bullet?

https://simplymaya.com/forum/attachme...1&d=1357260492
https://simplymaya.com/forum/attachme...1&d=1357260492

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 04-01-2013 , 02:27 AM
EduSciVis-er
One simple way that doesn't involve UVing the rest of the bullet (which would still be a good exercise) is to create the material with no texture, apply it to the whole bullet. Then select the bottom faces and apply a duplicate material to it, this time with the bump texture.

# 3 04-01-2013 , 12:09 PM
The thin red line
I would UV the lot, cylinder projection for the side of the bullet and planner projection for the bottom. These are the sort of object that you should start to UV as they are easy and will help you to understand better the UV work flow......................dave

# 4 04-01-2013 , 02:57 PM
Lifetime Member
You should UV the whole thing as practice, Im with stwert though for speed. Apply the brass type material to the top end of the bullet. Then select the bottom faces and apply the same material (duplicate) then apply the bump to that.