SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya Hair/Polygon Error

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
06-12-2010, 09:04 AM   #1
ingram_no.7
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Maya Hair/Polygon Error
Hey dudes! Someone mind giving me a hand here??

I'm creating a woman in Maya and was going to use maya hair follicles. I modeled one half of her body with polys, then duplicated it to the other side and merged the two sides. From the original model of the woman, I created a scalp to create hair from. After creating the hair, hair follicles were only created on one side of the scalp, following along the same axis that the original body was merged.

I did a little bit of snooping. I made a plane and created hair from the faces. And it all worked fine. All the faces selected had hair follicles. Then I mirrored the plane and merged the vertices and then selected all the faces and created hair. The hair was only created on one half, just like it was done on the woman's scalp.

So I'm assuming that it has something to do with the polygon mesh. I've centered pivot, frozen transformations and deleted history and none of that works. Would anybody have any idea whats going on here???

Thanks!
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 09:48 AM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Sorry trying to understand, are you saying the hair folicals were copied over but no hair.....dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 10:09 AM   #3
ingram_no.7
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
No no, half the scalp had follicles, the other half had nothing.
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 10:16 AM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Have your duplication settings been altered?? after having Maya do its thing with me a lot...it could be that?? Just a thought...like instance versus copy or something silly like that?

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 10:34 AM   #5
ingram_no.7
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Nup just tried that. I reset the settings and the rest. It's nothing to do with that.
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 10:35 AM   #6
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
I just did a quick test, I used ctl+D in object mode then scaled that worked OK
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 11:15 AM   #7
ingram_no.7
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Not entirely sure what you mean. But I tried duplicating the entire model, selecting the faces to define a scalp and duplicating the faces. Then selected those scalp faces and clicked 'create hair' ... still the same problem.

I then also tried selecting the faces that had no hair follicles and then clicked 'create hair' and Maya said that the selected faces already had hair assigned to them.
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 11:30 AM   #8
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Ok I couldnt duplicate your problem initially mate...BUT I did when I MIRRORED geometry...not when I duplicated. So that may be the problem....

cheers bullet

try duplicating your mesh instead of mirror.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 11:38 AM   #9
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
I got this difference mate as you can see the mirrored geo doesnt get all hair...but the duplicated geo does.

cheers bullet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ingram.jpg
Views:	1226
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	45263  
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
  Reply with quote
06-12-2010, 12:01 PM   #10
ingram_no.7
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks I'll check it out and get back to you on it.
  Reply with quote
09-12-2010, 09:00 PM   #11
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,332
check your uv's
  Reply with quote
10-12-2010, 12:26 AM   #12
ingram_no.7
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Do UVs need to be laid out for you to apply hair to faces do they?
  Reply with quote
10-12-2010, 10:23 AM   #13
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,332
if the surface is polygons yes not very sure about nubs
  Reply with quote
10-12-2010, 11:27 AM   #14
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,456
Also delete history before joining the two half togeather and check the normals before and after joining.
I remember working with hair on that film I did and it got me a few times, were it was not working on both half's - bloody normal problems - not saying thats is your problem but worth checking out none the less
__________________
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Separating a Polygon into pieces NishantBalgovind Maya Modeling 7 18-08-2015 12:36 PM
Maya Fatal Error Cemrey22 Maya Technical Issues 0 17-11-2011 11:17 PM
MAYA '08 LOCKS MAC. Error: does not match the current architecture (VectorRender) Howard Rourke Maya Technical Issues 0 26-01-2008 01:10 PM
Maya Fatal Error Atempting Save: my document/maya/temp/........ please help , 3danimationmaya Maya Technical Issues 0 21-01-2006 05:04 AM
Quick way to duplicate/scale concentric walls? Steve555 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 8 08-12-2005 02:42 PM