Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 07-07-2013 , 03:27 PM

Trimming NURBS and Boolean Difference Issues

salam,

i attached a PDF with images that show the problems

I started learning Modeling (Maya 2013) and I want to model a Technics SL-1210 MK2 Turntable (Image 1). I tried different modeling techniques but they all lead to a problem in the end.

First I used polygonal modeling with boolean differences for the cutouts in the body of the Technics (the holes where the turntable, buttons etc are placed in). (Image 2)
When I want to bevel the Edges of the boolean difference, parts of the mesh disappear/become invisible (Image 3). Reassgning the shader doesnt solve the invisible mesh, and after deleting the history the beveling still doesnt work properly

So I tried it with NURBS. I project curves onto the NURBS surface, I increased the Curve Precision and the Crv Precision shaded under the NURBS Surface Display attributes, so my circular curves get projected correctly (Image 4). But when I extrude the trimmed egde, i get a low res and facetted extrusion. I used a linear CV Curve for the extrusion.
So under Tessellation I tweak the Simple and Advanced Tessellation attributes, but the extrusion stays low res. (Image 5)

Why is the extrusion not connected to the trimmed egde? When I convert to Polygons to combine the meshes in order to bevel the edge, the extruded mesh got more vertices so I cannot connect it correctly to the surface-
Is there no way to bevel a trimmed egde and keeping the NURBS ?

I think NURBS is the appropriate modeling technique for this object, is this correct?

What do I need to consider if I want to use this turntable for realtime purposes?

Attached Files
File Type: pdf Modeling Issues.pdf (171.3 KB, 447 views)
# 2 07-07-2013 , 09:22 PM