SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Maya Technical Issues / Maya 2012 x64 freeze/crash problem

Maya Technical Issues Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
10-11-2011, 04:27 PM   #1
Manneblask
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Maya 2012 x64 freeze/crash problem
Hi there.

Iíve been using a student version of Maya 2012 64bit for a few weeks now, havnít had any problems with it all. Until yesterday. I can start it, use it for like 2-5 minutes then my screen goes totally grey and my computer locks up, it doesnt restart itself, and it isnt a blue/black screen.
The only resort is to restart the computer by the reset button.

I have a pretty good PC, as I study game development, and myself play a lot games. I have no problems at all with other applications and 3D applications. As I said, i game a lot, and I can do so non-stop without any problems.
No problem with the GPU-temp either, itís about 30 degrees c in idle, and in working with Maya about 35-40, otherwise in full load in games, its about 70.

I would really like some help here, so any answers would be useful. I have the latest drivers for my gpu, temps are fine and so on.

Pc specs:
Processor: AMD Phenom II 970 BE 3.7ghz x 4
RAM: 8GB DDR3 RAM
GPU: Radeon 6950 2GB DDR5
PSU: 700W
HDD: 1TB Western Digital
MB: Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
  Reply with quote
10-11-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,155
Might not help much but i have had problems with the Maya and the latest version of the Radeon drivers, have you tried downgrading the driver. I'd look up the version I'm using but I'm on my linux box atm so it ain't going to do you a lot of good.

Good luck
Dave
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
  Reply with quote
10-11-2011, 04:47 PM   #3
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
what version of windows pls?

and of course the only certified / recommened cards for maya 2012 are Quadro from nvidia and firepro from ati. I can tell you first hand that maya 2012 is very unstable with nvidia geforce (any and all drivers). maya 2011 and lower was much more stable with geforce. Maya 2012 has implemented some major changes under the hood and I believe it is far more unstable then autodesk is admitting.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram; 10-11-2011 at 04:52 PM.
  Reply with quote
10-11-2011, 05:00 PM   #4
Manneblask
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
I might try older drivers. The funny thing is that i havnt faced this problem before. I have Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

Might have to run an older version of Maya if thats the case.
  Reply with quote
10-11-2011, 05:06 PM   #5
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
maya 2012 has been making me quite insane. The three major problems are (1) I start maya and open a scene file and get "error parsing arguments" and the model opens in wireframe or it just opens in wireframe

(2) maya descided to stop refreshing my screen, the channel box and outliner go blank

(3) maya crashes and corrupts both the original and the dump files in the appdatatemp folder and you get to start all over. that is a real productivity booster!

I have tried rolling back 6 versions of drivers, reinstalling maya, installing the SP1 patch, I do have a SAP subscription but I am afraid to try what essentially is the beta release of the next piece of crap release
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
  Reply with quote
11-11-2011, 10:30 AM   #6
Manneblask
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
I updated my drivers to the lastest version (2011-10-31). The one I was using was about a month old. And so far no crashes at all. I don't understand the logic in this although, since i was using maya for a few weeks before i got this problem. Anyways, im hoping it will stay good for now
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya 2013 problem when starting: Menu set update NecroNinja34 Maya Technical Issues 2 29-01-2013 08:35 AM
Maya replace weight problem help please! x900lbGorillax Maya Technical Issues 1 07-03-2012 08:04 PM
Problem With Maya 2012 Selection Marquee eneuman Maya Technical Issues 9 14-02-2012 04:26 AM
changing the "Quick help" window size in the maya 2012 script editor. Jouri Programming 3 27-11-2011 06:15 AM