SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Lighting & Rendering / mental ray vs maya software renderer

Lighting & Rendering General Lighting, Camera & Rendering Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
18-05-2014, 05:15 AM   #1
xyl67
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
mental ray vs maya software renderer
Hi all,

I am a Maya beginner. Here is what I am confused about:
-polygon object with blinn shader, renders fine in mental ray
-next, within the blin shader, I try applying an image file (jpg with b/w and color) on the diffuse slider to map & modulate amount of diffuse

the result shows up in
- viewport 2.0 ( harware texturing on): luminosity is used to modulate diffuse
- maya software renderer: same here
but not in mental ray ( object renders as before and diffuse map is ignored)

What would be the cause of this?
I tried the same with eccentricity and with similar outcome ( ignored in mental ray, ok in maya software)
further I tried with a png image. Here mental ray use the transparency of the image, but ignores luminosity.

Would this be normal, or am i missing some settings?

Many thanks,

Jill
  Reply with quote
18-05-2014, 09:37 AM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Under the file texture node see in the colour balance if "alpha is luminance" is ticked...........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
18-05-2014, 07:13 PM   #3
Gen
Super Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
Can you upload the scene file and texture?
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
  Reply with quote
19-05-2014, 07:40 AM   #4
xyl67
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Hi all,

"alpha is luminance" under color balance in texture node, was or is indeed key to this problem, thank you daverave.

With this option unchecked, mental ray ignores the file ( although it does appear in viewport 2.0 and rendering using Maya Software). This comes as a surprise as my file is a jpg and does not contain any alpha.

Another strange thing is that I cannot recall having switched this option off.
So I checked starting a new scene, created polygon, added blinn and then a texture in the diffuse slider, and yes for every new scene this is unchecked... I am curious if this is the default or did I manage to unknowingly alter my mysterious settings...? (BTW I tried to trash my ..user/documents/maya.. settings but this didn't help. )

Anyhow, I am very happy that this is sorted out so quickly.

Thank you!

Jill
  Reply with quote
19-05-2014, 11:03 AM   #5
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
The default for "alpha is luminance" is off.................dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Render doesn't work with mental ray Maya 2017 LeopardTriX Maya Technical Issues 2 24-03-2017 02:58 PM
Command window error on Maya 2012 filip321 Maya Technical Issues 0 04-11-2015 08:46 PM
Mental Ray crashing scene? JustMcCollum Maya Technical Issues 7 10-05-2013 04:15 PM
Maya Software vs Mental Ray UncleMito Lighting & Rendering 3 23-04-2009 08:03 AM
Maya 2008 & Mental Ray Portal Light study. withego Finished Work 16 07-07-2008 06:41 AM