SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / Extra RAM
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-11-2009, 11:38 AM   #16
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

That crucial scan is handy. Thanks Gster. Ive taken a picture of the results. I hope the information is clear, the file size of the image was big so I had to knock it down to a level 6 JPEG.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	crucialscanresults.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	137.8 KB
ID:	43291  
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2009, 11:38 AM   #17
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You change the prefs to allow it to use more memory and subdivide the mesh more, I can get to about 20-30 million per mesh off the top of my ehad, think thats the limit I've got to.

Also use sub tools to get more polys etc.

But yeah I thnk Z's only 32 bit. was hoping that they might bring a 64 bit version out but dunno.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2009, 11:44 AM   #18
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

I thought I had tried to increase the settings in the mem. Its under preferences>mem yeah? Do you need to save the settings somehow or will they stay set once you alter them? Which settings would you recommend changing?

Also I was wondering that. If you have a model of 8 million polys and cant subdivide any further, are you better off having say 8 subtools of a million polys each?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	brushmem.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	104.3 KB
ID:	43292  
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2009, 11:49 AM   #19
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Your max polys per mesh is only at 9.7mil probably why your getting the max at about 8.

Theres a thread at Zbrush central that goes over getting the best out of the PC.

From the memory scan it looks like your full up for the PC. Not too sure but in XP you used to have the "3gig switch" to imporve programme RAM usage, maybe its in vista too? I'm on 64 Vista on all my comps, which when you swith off all the crap is great.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.