SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / split edge ring tool

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
18-03-2007, 04:53 PM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
split edge ring tool
ok, here's the question -

When you use the split polygon tool you can set the number of magnets to ensure that the split is precise - so if you set it to 1 you can make sure you cut the edge in half.

How do you do the same thing using the split edge ring tool. so for example, if you want to make a loop, but ensure the split is exactly half of the edge, what would you do?

Am I making sense?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
18-03-2007, 05:10 PM   #2
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Yea i hear what your saying but i dont think you can do that.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
  Reply with quote
18-03-2007, 05:26 PM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
yeah it seems wierd - I would have thought it would be an obvious setting.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
19-03-2007, 03:40 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,710
When the Split Type is set to Relative, the preview locator is positioned based on a percentage distance along the edge (25%, 50% and so on)depending where you first click.
Of course this percentage is based on the shortest edge in your chosen loop.

There is no way at present as far as I know to set exactly 50% and have it be right on all faces of the loop.
  Reply with quote
19-03-2007, 07:09 PM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
got you. thanks jsprogg.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with split edge tool 2013 frosty03 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 19-06-2012 08:46 PM
Edge ring and split snowking Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 3 29-06-2010 11:19 AM
Split Edge Ring Tool and Snapping thespongebob Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 09-09-2007 09:47 AM
Cut Edge Ring Tool DotNet54 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 17-04-2007 08:16 PM
Edge loop split without any plugins codemonkey Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 19-04-2005 09:37 AM