SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 27-08-2007, 05:16 PM
mayanim8's Avatar
mayanim8
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4

PERSP window bug maya 8.5 on the Mac

I am using maya 8.5 and I've had this problem occur two times.
the default Perspective camera suddenly moves into the ORTHOGRAPHIC pull down menu under PANEL. It looks and acts like an orthograhic top view camera, you can not modify the changes. When you look open up the attribute editor it reads like the persp default camera..
Even when I export the camera and load the exported file, and then open the file, the camera is still odd. Not only that, the exported file has only the Persp camera and not even the default cameras. (orthographic or not)

Now I have been a windows user and I am new to the OSX. I've never had this happen before.

Has anyone else?

thanks,
m

# 2 27-08-2007, 06:06 PM
Jr.Who
Guest
Posts: n/a
Could you post a picture of it?

# 3 28-08-2007, 08:26 AM
mayanim8's Avatar
mayanim8
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
I wish I could.
I can't figure out how to get a screen grab that will allow me to show you the panel pull down menu.

As the screen grab function on the Mac needs the mouse.
And the system I'm currently on has only the basic Mac keyboard, so no print screen key.

So if someone can tell me how to get an image, I'd happily post it.
showing the outliner and the hypergraph show nothing.

# 4 28-08-2007, 08:29 AM
Jr.Who
Guest
Posts: n/a
# 5 28-08-2007, 09:34 AM
mayanim8's Avatar
mayanim8
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
here's an image

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	persperror.gif
Views:	83
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	35982  
# 6 28-08-2007, 09:43 AM
Jr.Who
Guest
Posts: n/a
I think your compass (the thing in the top right of the perspective window) is set to a different view. Click the cube in the middle of the compass.

# 7 28-08-2007, 02:52 PM
mayanim8's Avatar
mayanim8
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks,

It's a new feature in Maya, or at least new to me.
I pressed the square bracket key which toggles the active view from persp to top and so on.

thanks again.

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off