SimplyMaya

Welcome back to SimplyMaya. Check out our latest training here.

MAYA TUTORIALS
Post all your interface and configuration related problems with Maya software here.
 
Thread Tools
# 1 29-11-2003, 08:06 AM
neoarcadia's Avatar
neoarcadia
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 57

Maya 5.0.1 Problem: MentalRay won't load

I Just upgraded to MentalRay 5.0.1, and mentalray worked fine.. However as soon as i restarted (I think this is when it stopped), mentalray stopped loading. So I checked the plug-in manager and told it to load mentalray, and it gave me this:

// mental ray for Maya 5
// Warning: mental ray for Maya: couldn't find maya.rayrc in search path, trying old-style startup file //
// Error: mental ray for Maya: couldn't find startup file //
// Error: (Mayatomr) : startup command execution failed //
// Error: initializePlugin function failed (Mayatomr) //

Did i mess something up? I'll try reinstalling a little later, I'm at a LAN Party (go ahead n say it, i'm a nerd haha), so I don't have my CD's with me. I'm pretty sure it was because of the 5.0.1 patch, though.

Oh, and I can't seem to render with the software renderer either. The batch render sits at 0% the whole time, but that could be something wrong with my scene file for it would crash earlier if I tried.

Oh and I'm sorry if this was posted in a previous thread (the fix), but I searched and couldn't find one.


eat the corn--
# 2 29-11-2003, 12:29 PM
neoarcadia's Avatar
neoarcadia
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 57
ahhh, and i also get this when i load my scene..

// mental ray for Maya 5
// Warning: mental ray for Maya: couldn't find maya.rayrc in search path, trying old-style startup file //
// Error: mental ray for Maya: couldn't find startup file //
// Error: (Mayatomr) : startup command execution failed //
// Error: line 1: initializePlugin function failed (Mayatomr) //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'mentalrayItemsList'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'mentalrayGlobals'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'miDefaultOptions'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'miDefaultFramebuffer'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'Draft'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'DraftMotionBlur'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'Preview'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'PreviewMotionblur'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'PreviewCaustics'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'PreviewGlobalIllum'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'PreviewFinalGather'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'Production'; preserving node information during this session. //
// Warning: line 1: Unrecognized node type for node 'ProductionMotionblur'; preserving node information during this session. //
// File read in 5 seconds.
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: cupShader //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: file1 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: blinn4 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: blinn5 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: file2 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: envChrome2 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: lambert8 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: lambert9 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: file3 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: lightFog1 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: checker1 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: envChrome1 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: lambert3 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: phong2 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: lambert6 //
// Warning: line 1: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: blinn3 //
// Result: 1 //

And if i try to render in software (i turn it to preview quality, 320x200, and raytracing off)..

setAttr "defaultRenderQuality.enableRaytracing" 0;
// Error: An error has occurred. Rendering aborted. //
// Error: An exception has occurred, rendering aborted. //
// Error: Free memory is low. Memory exception thrown //

Yet i have plenty of memory left, and plenty of my page file left..

then again i can render new scenes or other scenes..


eat the corn--
# 3 29-12-2003, 05:15 AM
dave_baer's Avatar
dave_baer
Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Hey neoarcadia, sorry for the late reply. I assume that since you didn't re-post here, you solved your problem? If not, here's a suggestion to try.

Create a new scene. Import your old scene into the new scene. Create new cameras and render.

I know, it's a weird solution and doesn't give a technical answer. But I've also had those problems where the scene just wouldn't render. I did what I said to try and it worked.

If you've already solved it, we would appreciate it if you could post your solution here for anybody else with the same issues.

Thanks.



Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
# 4 30-12-2003, 02:05 AM
Elemenopee's Avatar
Elemenopee
Subscriber
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 57
neoarcadia in the 5.0.1 update Alias decided to rename the Mental Ray plugin.

Get into your Plugin Manager in maya, then find Mayatomr.mll load it and Mental Ray will be back.


The only constant is change...
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off