SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Duplicate Special Problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2007, 10:18 AM   #1
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Problems

Hello everyone, I'm new to SM as well to Maya 2008. Iim a Mac user so I have OSX.
I've been using the Official Maya Tutorial since yesterday (started yesterday) and I got stuck here.
It tells me to duplicate special an object, which I do, and it also says that the Duplicate Special Options Window appears, which I think isn't true.
(To get a better idea of what I'm talking about, here is the tutorial link: http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/file...ngstarted1.pdf , and I'm on page 61)
The Translate, Rotate, and Scale I can do, but the Geometry Type: Copy and the Group Under: Parent I can't do because I can't see those anywhere.

Can anyone help me out please? I can't find the Geometry Type and the Group Under maybe because the Duplicate Special Options Window doesn't appear!

Please help!

Last edited by DavidS7 : 04-11-2007 at 06:54 PM.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 10:32 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Click that little box next to "Duplicate Special". It's called the option box.

BTW, what version of OS X are you using?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 10:40 AM   #3
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot bro, oh and I'm still on Tiger :headbang:.
I'm planning to get Lepoard very soon
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 10:58 AM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you ever got time, here's something I wrote up:
http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...threadid=27984

Welcome to the SM forum.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 07:00 PM   #5
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got another problem now, in the same tutorial but in page 93 (Tutorial) tells me to do this:
3 From the Status Line, select the Rendering menu set using the menu
selector.
The main menu changes to display the menu set for Rendering.
4 From the main menu, select Lighting/Shading > Assign New Material > Blinn.

I thought I did everything well, I changed the Blinn's color but the temple kept being grey, why is this?
Maybe I didn't selected something correctly.
I don't really know about the "select Lighting/Shading". Where can I select it?
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 02:01 AM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidS7
I got another problem now, in the same tutorial but in page 93 (Tutorial) tells me to do this:
3 From the Status Line, select the Rendering menu set using the menu
selector.
The main menu changes to display the menu set for Rendering.
4 From the main menu, select Lighting/Shading > Assign New Material > Blinn.

I thought I did everything well, I changed the Blinn's color but the temple kept being grey, why is this?
Maybe I didn't selected something correctly.
I don't really know about the "select Lighting/Shading". Where can I select it?
Look in the top left of your screen, and click the drop down menu, then you will see a bunch of different things, you will find "Rendering" there. Then look at the menu bar of your screen, and you will find the "Lighting/Shading" menu. An easier way to do this is to go to your rendering tab (in the shelf) and click the material you want. Make sure you have the object that you want the material to be applied to selected.

Check out this screen for some help with the UI:
http://images.autodesk.com/adsk/file...screenshot.jpg

Have you watched the free tuts from this site yet?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 03:32 AM   #7
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot man.
Quote:
Have you watched the free tuts from this site yet?
Ohh, I just wanted to finish this one and look at these

Edit: Got stuck again :headbang:. I think I must delete the blinn I made before (attribute) but I can't find a way how!

Last edited by DavidS7 : 05-11-2007 at 03:50 AM.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:08 AM   #8
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidS7
Thanks a lot man.

Ohh, I just wanted to finish this one and look at these

Edit: Got stuck again :headbang:. I think I must delete the blinn I made before (attribute) but I can't find a way how!
Go to Window> Hypershade.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:20 AM   #9
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jr.Who
Go to Window> Hypershade.
It still didn't worked, anyways.. I won't stick to this, I'll start viewing SM's tutorials!
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:23 AM   #10
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidS7
It still didn't worked, anyways.. I won't stick to this, I'll start viewing SM's tutorials!
Did you check out the (F1) help files for some info on the hypershade?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:34 AM   #11
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jr.Who
Did you check out the (F1) help files for some info on the hypershade?
Done, and it's still not working...
I want to learn Maya to make cars in 3D. I found a tutorial here in SM but I must buy points for it :eeek2:.
Pretty nice idea about the points...
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:49 AM   #12
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidS7
Done, and it's still not working...
What do you mean it's not working? Are you going into the hypershade, selecting the material, then hitting the delete key?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:55 AM   #13
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh yeah, I can delete it, although when I make the blinn in the Lighing/Shading it still doesn't get the color that I want.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:19 AM   #14
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidS7
Oh yeah, I can delete it, although when I make the blinn in the Lighing/Shading it still doesn't get the color that I want.
And you tried changing the color in it's attributes?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:20 AM   #15
DavidS7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jr.Who
And you tried changing the color in it's attributes?
Yup, done...
Want me tu upload the Scene?
Perhaps you can find out if I did something wrong earlier.

Last edited by DavidS7 : 05-11-2007 at 05:23 AM.
DavidS7 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.