SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Serious Maya 5 crashes
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2003, 10:45 PM   #16
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ok. Maya, for some odd reason, just decided to start working again. This after a reformat and reinstall. What did I do differently this time? I didn't import my saved settings I had from an earlier install. Could that have done it? Possible. It's possible there was a setting in there somewhere that was corrupting the rendering process.

Anyway, I'm up and running again and once again a happy camper.

__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:46 PM   #17
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sounds like a stupid question but how did you get rid of the saved settings? Is this deferent then deleating history?
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 10:52 AM   #18
GreyFox
Registered User
 
GreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same problems with Maya 4.5, so did a friend of mine.
__________________
WIP: Marine | Orc | Zulu Units for Civ3 |
GreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 04:37 PM   #19
dave_baer
Moderator
 
dave_baer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Plantation, Florida
Posts: 1,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

No. You just delete them from the C:/Documents and Settings/Administrator/My Documents/Maya/4.5/prefs and replace them.
__________________
Dave Baer
Professor of Digital Arts
Digital Media Arts College
Boca Raton, Florida
dbaer@dmac.edu
dave_baer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 06:19 PM   #20
RickStefani
Registered User
 
RickStefani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 658
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not sure which helped but I did use dave_baer preferences and then converded any nurbs or SubD surface to polies from the older file and it works fine now.
RickStefani is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.