SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Carrara 5 Pro

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Thread Tools
28-12-2007, 11:24 PM   #1
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Carrara 5 Pro
Im thinking of buying the latest issue of 3d world and it comes with Carrara 5 Pro
what exactly does it do?
it sounds like some kind of rendering thing
my computer cant do hardware rendering, would it allow me to render particles?
or have i got the completly wrong idea
  Reply with quote
28-12-2007, 11:26 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Its a 3d programme like maya, well sort of, its mid/high level.

DAZ make it so it might be worth looking on their site
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
28-12-2007, 11:31 PM   #3
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
what formats can it handle?
  Reply with quote
29-12-2007, 12:54 AM   #4
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Ooh may have to give that a purchase!!

Chris
  Reply with quote
29-12-2007, 09:56 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Quote:
Originally posted by elephantinc
what formats can it handle?
Dunno, I would expect that it can handle .obj files but I would doubt it can handle 3ds, ma or mb's.

It might say on DAZ's site
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
29-12-2007, 11:12 AM   #6
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
I couldnt find anything on there site
ill just have to get it and see i geuss
cheers
  Reply with quote
29-12-2007, 12:03 PM   #7
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
I found this, although tit is for 'Carrara Basics' so as the title suggests it is bare minimums, 3D wise, but it says...

* Import formats: Carrara File format (.car), 3DS, DXF, Ray Dream, Infini-D
* Export formats: Carrara File format (.car), 3DS, DXF
* Image File Formats: GIF, JPEG, BMP (Windows only), PICT (Mac only)
* Movie File Formats: QuickTime, AVI (Windows only), Animated GIF

I'm guessing that it will be similar for the higher end versions of Carrara to.

Chris
  Reply with quote
29-12-2007, 12:07 PM   #8
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
(And .FBX files also!!)

Chris
  Reply with quote
29-12-2007, 08:05 PM   #9
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
am i right in thinking that may cant handle those import and export formats?
cheers for the info
ill get it anyway me thinks, its free after all
  Reply with quote
29-12-2007, 08:10 PM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
maya can recognise 3ds, obj, fbx, just to name a few so you can go between them.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
30-12-2007, 09:16 AM   #11
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
can it save as those types also? i couldnt find an option for it
  Reply with quote
30-12-2007, 09:24 AM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
in maya, yes.

Got to either exprot all or export selection and then in the file type there should be the options there (note - you might need to activate the exporter in the plug in manager, or infact get the bonus tools form autodesk)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
30-12-2007, 04:40 PM   #13
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
ok cheers
i cant find the issue aywhere though
DAMN YOU WHSMITHS!!! :angery:
  Reply with quote
30-12-2007, 09:50 PM   #14
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Take it your in the uk?

It seems that WHSmiths has taken it off the shelves at "smaller" outlets, I used to be able to get it at one close by but now I have to go to Manchesters branch to get a copy.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
30-12-2007, 11:24 PM   #15
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
a subscription is handy (and cheaper in the long run)

Simon
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
  Reply with quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MachStudio Pro demos May 5, 7, and 13 firebird Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 01-05-2009 08:12 PM
Mad & Bad Episode 5 & "Lost - the hatch by Mad & Bad " jalixko Finished Work 0 23-09-2007 06:01 PM
Radeon 9600 Pro + Maya 5 feynman Maya Technical Issues 1 07-10-2003 10:49 PM
Maya 5 + Maya 4.5 book??? Cyborg Corp Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 02-06-2003 06:46 PM
Gigabyte Radeon 9700 Pro Review tariqrf Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 27-10-2002 03:02 PM